You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curiosity vs. Greed: Why Do We Want Stuff and Is It a Bad Thing?

in #philosophy8 years ago

It depends on which moral philosophy we wish to adopt. If we're being minimalists, then all we need is a smattering of food and regular fresh water and a safe place to sleep. From there, we can assume that each advantageous item (bathroom, bedroom, refrigerator) is then just a luxury that does not determine if we live or die, necessarily.

If we're looking at it from a utilitarian perspective, then all we need is what we'd call the "basics" of modern society: Apt, computer, bed, clothes, etc. Only if we cross over into "bling" territory for these categories would it become unnecessary luxury. Think of a basic sneaker vs. an "Air Jordan".

All of this depends on the individual, and the moral construction of their ethics. Knowledge that doesn't help reinforce this structure would be considered "a waste," even though it may be of value to a different individual.

Ultimately, I don't see greed itself as bad. Rampant greed can surely have terrible consequences, but in moderation it can also be a motivator, as you say.

Thanks for making me think on my lunch break :)

Sort:  

Of course it's subjective, but how should one determine how much one needs? I feel like I can always get rid of one more thing.. :-)

We definitely share that common struggle. Ironically, I have a weird thing about keeping cables and tech wires. I'm not sure they connect to anything anymore, but I'll be damned if I'll risk it haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67828.36
ETH 3810.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66