You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎓 Bitesize Philosophy: Marcus Aurelius ( #6)

in #philosophy6 years ago

I don't think I would say this is a favourite, but I do like the sentiment.

"Say to yourself in the early morning: I shall meet today ungrateful, violent, treacherous, envious, uncharitable men. All of these things have come upon them through ignorance of real good and ill... I can neither be harmed by any of them, for no man will involve me in wrong, nor can I be angry with my kinsman or hate him; for we have come into the world to work together."

So basically he is saying "What's the worst that can happen?" lol, and I agree that by playing out the worst-case scenario in your mind is a great way to take away the fear of the unknown even when it is about the immediate future.

I especially like where he goes one step further and reminds us that no matter what others try and do to us, we are still led by our own moral compass, which we alone have complete control over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62539.74
ETH 3201.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81