You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What am I attempting in 2018?

in #philosophy6 years ago

A very sweet thing to pay for the ice cream :)

I think my partner sometimes feels the same way as you do, and would dearly love to slow down, spend more time with me and the kids, not have to deal with other people's expectations, but like you we have bills and mortgage to pay. I've tried to alleviate some of the pressure by running a business part time with my sister but we have since let that slide to the bare minimum (we're maintaining our existing clients but not taking on any new ones unless we know them already or are recommended by existing clients) as it was making me a terrible parent and worse partner. We got better before it became critical.

It's pretty tough not having anything concrete to show. Are you able to start with something small and concrete? Or have you already done that? I'm currently annoying my partner as my first purchase (once I cash out the steem) will be two new cats and associated paraphernalia, but it's solid proof to him that it is possible to make and do things with magical internet bubble money ;)

Hope this year is good for you :)

goatsig

Sort:  

It's pretty tough not having anything concrete to show. Are you able to start with something small and concrete?

Not yet, but I asked my wife the other day what we really, really need and can get online just to prove that it is possible. :)

It does put a lot of pressure on us but my wife is currently back at school as a full-time student and mother so things have to get covered before any extras, even when it comes to the relationships.

Good idea :D And sometimes little things like that help a lot because then you get that nice sense of yes, I achieved something, and this thing I'm doing is possible, and I can get through the hard slog, and that light isn't a train XD (though me being the annoying nitpicky thing I am I always figured you'd hear and feel it if it was a train XD)

We've been through a period where I was home with a baby and a toddler while he was doing full time study before he finished his degree and flew into full time employment straight out of uni. I remember how tough and often downright stressful that was.

I think your partner understands that, and hopefully by the time the small is old enough to understand that, it won't be an issue anymore :)

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75