Thinking about knowing: How philosophy changed my life

in #philosophy6 years ago

harm-weustink-247501.jpg

One of my biggest life lessons was something I picked up when I first started studying philosophy, about 19 years ago.

I was in my early 20s, and having made a mess of high school, had spent a few years failing to complete a lab technician diploma, drinking too much and smoking too much weed. Over this time, almost organically, my friends and I had developed an interest in the occult and all things mystical and paranormal. Meeting wicca practitioners and taking acid did throw fuel on the fire, but I’d always had a sense of the undercurrents of reality, even as a child. Ironically, it’s this sense of life maybe not being as it appears that led me to philosophy, and a radical change in my outlook.

The University of Newcastle has for many years run programs for people who want to get into a bachelor’s degree, but who don't have the high school grades to do so. Basically, you did 6-12 months of coursework, they’d calculate the equivalent of an entry rank, and if you did well enough let you into a full degree. Seeing as I’d always thought I’d enjoy philosophy, I picked that as one of my subjects.

And I did enjoy it, immensely. One of the things we spent a lot of time talking about was what counted as knowing something, and whether or not knowledge was different to belief. We discussed the classical idea of knowledge – Justified True Belief, as well as the more modern conception that knowing something means using or believing the best available theory. What changed in me wasn’t sudden. But across 1999 something was slowly percolating in my head.

By 2000, as I started in on my first year in undergrad, my grasp of reasons to think something was true (or not) had grown a bit, and was now coming into conflict with the strangeness around me. It was pretty chaotic. People close to me had gotten enmeshed in the seamy underbelly of pseudo-pagan cults, and much of the conflict within our group of friends had taken on a very supernatural flavour. No longer was it just that someone was talking behind someone else’s back, they were accused of mounting psychic attacks and/or other clandestine spell-casting. The irony that we discussed this supposed metaphysical meddling behind each other’s backs is not lost on me. I was equally guilty of this, such was my depth of belief at the time.

I couldn’t tell you the date things changed. But I remember the moment quite well. I was walking home from a class, crossing the footbridge between the main library and the School of Architecture. It was a dreary afternoon – the kind where the clouds cast a bluish light and concrete structures seem particularly cold – and I had felt the perceived weight of spiritual attacks settling on me like an invisible wet blanket.

Halfway across the bridge, I finally allowed myself to have the thought that had been brewing for some time: What if what I thought was happening, or at least some of it, actually wasn’t?

What if interaction of non-physical psychic phenomena wasn’t the best explanation for what I was feeling and how we were all behaving? (I may have stopped at that point. For dramatic purposes, let’s just say I did.)

What if what I thought I knew about life, mind, the universe and my little corner of it actually had no justification? I suddenly perceived that these beliefs, many of which played a role in how unhappy I was at the time, seemed without foundation, and that I could summon no good reason to hold them as being definitely true (or anywhere near it).

What if none of it was actually happening?

From the outside, it might have seemed that not much changed. I don’t remember what I did when I got home that afternoon – probably played computer games, smoked too much, and continued to thoughtlessly sabotage an already doomed and toxic relationship. I wasn’t totally transformed either – it took another few years for me to learn how to be in a relationship without being a total asshole, as well as make the connection between my ridiculous personal life and the anxiety I was experiencing at the time. But my attitude towards what I thought was true was irreparably changed from that day on.

Before any of my former coreligionists get up in arms, I’m not saying that your spiritual beliefs aren’t true. I’ve grown out of a less reflective form of atheism into a more open-minded agnostic, so I’d say a lot of the time I simply don’t know if your version of God or Goddess is right or not (or even if that’s the best way to think about such questions). And anyone who has read my earlier post regarding my experience with Salvia divinorum will see that I still wonder if there is more to existence that our everyday perceptions and scientific paradigm tells us. I have seen and experienced things I can't explain, but I now no longer rush to explain them, and I think about why I choose some explanations over others.

The lesson of thinking about why I hold something to be true has stayed with me, and acts as a foil to my tendency to project negativity onto people and events around me. Why do I think that person does/doesn’t like me? Why do I think something good/bad is going to happen? Sometimes there’s good reasons for these assessments, but often, there isn’t.

Of course, thinking this way isn’t without cost. I’ve had to admit that some things I thought I knew about, like quantum physics, are actually things I believe on the basis that someone I trust told me they are good theories. Being aware of how pragmatic and (at best) probabilistic our everyday thinking is can be uncomfortable too. But in general, I’ve learnt to not worry about this sort of thing too much. Mindfulness is good for this – my thoughts come and go – I’m aware of them, but they needn’t rule me.

So that's my lesson - think about why you believe things! Think about what you know, and why you feel you know it. But be warned, it could change your life (and not just because you could end up a philosopher, as I did).

Thanks for reading. Upvotes, resteems, and most of all, comments are deeply appreciated.

Photo by Harm Weustink on Unsplash

DQmcHbDwtkt18cJR6NGVtp8WKwrvmqPPXETb2Ty1pGH3Zg9_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Thar she blows!

Call me Ishmael :)

Thanks for sharing your story. I can relate to part of it: the always existing question of why I think something is true, and the (probable) subjectivity of that. Unlike you, however, I still need to learn to let go of those questions, and just live. Too often, I let these doubts rule my life - worrying all the time about ... well, about almost everything

Have you ever imagine about the life without philosophy!

I'm not sure that I could - it's so much a part of me now.

Being human tends to see us having the need to justify /rationalise our experiences in order to understand and process them.
These experiences are for our personal growth, are they not? It would have been so much easier if we were taught mindfulness from the get go and bypassing all the drama of life - its Monday morning and I don't want to think too hard just yet - I haven't had my caffeine fix yet - but I will re-read later thank you for sharing!

I can relate to your post. Speaking personally, my beliefs are constantly changing over time. Im full of shit, a gullible scientist, a shallow philosopher, etc. I know i exist, i know that i feel, i know that i think...i would love to know reality on a deeper level, maybe one day i will. But for now and until then, i just try to be a descent human being, i try to do the right thing, and despite my insecurities and short comings i will try to become a better me.

Really good stuff. Many lessons can be learned from asking these types of questions. I like philosophy a lot, though sadly I must admit I don't know one school of thinking from another sometimes. I have been getting better. My favorite fiction author love to talk philosophy on his blog. Its often times good and hes came up with what he calls the 'blind brain theory' which is sort of what I believe.

Thank you for sharing, you are appreciated!

Thanks for the kind words! I don't tend to focus on schools of thought as such, though I am predominately 'analytic' in my methods - this means I spend a lot of time saying "well, that depends what you mean by..." to either myself or others. Thanks for the link too. I have't read any of Bakker's stuff, but have followed one of his co-authors, Eric Schwitzgebel, for many years now.

Before good arguments can go forward semantics must first be considered. definitions need to be drawn up. To often arguments that could be good learning experiences end up in stalemates because of a difference of meaning of words. I see it happen all the time. I am sadly guilty of it from time to time. well Its been a while since I caught myself doing it.. but it still is there.

One of the things I say over (and over) again is "well that depends by what you mean by..." - only in recent years do I realise what an analytical thing that is to say.

For about the past 100 years, many western philosophers have held that most of our philosophical problems (and many of our political and practical ones) come from being inexact with our words and what we mean by them. I think many of the discussions I've seen here about 6th-day voting fall into this trap by conflating two senses in which we say someone 'shouldn't' do something: what is ethical, and what the code allows. I reckon this is the equivalent of conflating the laws of physics and the laws of the land.

Indeed. Ohh and you took second in my competition. Congratulations. You should have got some SBDs. Thanks for the awesome post!

Very well written, @samueldouglas, philosophy too has changed my life in many ways. It is an enrichment.

Thanks - that's why I'm so keen to work on getting it to more people, especially those who are at the edges of society - not just those with the luck/brains/money to get into university.

Great lesson, I know many that are plagued by questions that simply cannot be answered. Your absolutely right, these thoughts need not control you.

Very interesting. I went through something similar. My great revelation was that "What's important to me is not necessarily what's important to you and vice versa. And that's OKAY." I love "AHA!" moments. :) There is a channel on Discord now for discussing the paranormal. Follow this link. It is your invitation. https://discord.gg/QcQYYWP
image0022.gif
38.gif

Yup. You have said this with honesty and integrity and I'm hearing you. I think I learnt something similar and although I have written of it before (not on here as of yet) I certainly haven't said it as well. Oh, and I'm proof that you can learn to think about why you believe what you do without being a philosopher! That said, thinking and questioning your beliefs about things is best done in an environment that both challenges and encourages you. I do miss the rigour and the challenge, to be sure.

Ha, I'm sure you did learn something similar, and what's more, you learnt at least part of it in the same place as I did! As for you supposedly not being a philosopher, I'm not sure where to draw that line. Remember, a research degree in philosophy is neither necessary nor sufficient to make someone a philosopher.

lol. Granted, but lets just say I haven't been 'practising' quite as much :)
As Kurt Vonnegut Jr. said in regards to reading, it takes practice, and the more you do it the better you get at it (Or, I think he said something like this).

Its easy to take beliefs for granted, yet to question them, and scrutinise your assumptions, is something one can get better at the more one practises.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94