What is YOUR life purpose ?

in #philosophy6 years ago

images.jpeg
Do you have a life purpose?

Next year my studies take me to life philosophies, as I have an interest in being, life, after life and spirituality. Until then, I am philosophising on my own merit, pondering and writing about our existance.

So, in a very generalised question, I am asking 'why are we here?'

Or maybe that should read 'What is our life purpose?'

Whilst I have been on my own spritual journey in my fat to fit challenge, I have been working on my purpose and as I have become more happier and healthier, I have realised that my perspective of why I am here is a very subjective view of a bigger picture.

I am finding that it matters less to listen to external authority and more to listen to our inner self, and also that anger and aggression is a wasted emotion, particuarly if it is powered by ego...and lets face it, we all have one of those!

When drawn into social gatherings whether political, religous or cultural, you are conforming to a set of rules. Which is fine, if you are not ignoring your inner self, because then you would not recognise your inner purpose.

Authority

Is your purpose in the authority? Are you on a life mission to be a devote Christian, political activist or an animal rights campaigner (examples) as part of a group ?

Inner self

Have you a burning desire to do one thing in life? Do you have a mission to pursue that ? Sometimes we leap to external authority in a bid to pursue our 'purpose' because it makes more sense to do it this way, and I am going to use myself as an example.

My purpose

I trained to be a youth worker in order to pursue my purpose of helping disadvantaged teenagers, like I was. I worked for the government, and various authority figures to do this. Eventually I got fed up with the endless red tape, restrictions and limitations of employment. I lost my purpose 'mojo' got a little angry with life and lost my way a little, seeking other purposes.

Now I write, I write books and blogs and I develop people through coaching but most of all I put it into my personality. I help people where I can by being kind and grateful. I am happier than I have been for such a long time.

My life purpose, I now know, is to be happy enough to be able to help and support others on their happiness journey. Not just humans...animals too.

The material stuff, and the details of what your purpose brings is an objective. Our sole purpose in life is to be happy, as it is contagious, the physical stuff is icing on the cake, if it is through choice, not just to conform.

Would love to hear your thoughts...

Sort:  

I agree with you.. as Dalai lama and many others said purpose of life is to be happy and make others around you happy and after reading your post if i may? I will suggest you to see a good post, you might like it
http://www.oshodhara.org.in/blog/2015/12/what-is-the-purpose-of-life-osho/
Thanks @sarahewaring ! Cheers :-D

I have a life purpose of helping people, help others... but it is a delayed gratification ideal. Many folks can not handle the long wait... when you help someone help another, there is a long justation period. Maybe even a generational event.

Yes, I agree with that. Empowering others can take time. Also, I think sometimes, people hold out for gratification from doing a good deed. When we do it with no intent, then we recognise the life purpose. Great comment as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55