You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Needs Of The Many

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

I've been watching next gen from start to finish. When the series was airing I was too young and dumb to grasp the concepts underlying the phasers and warp drive mumbo-jumbo. As an adult that no longer assumes he is too cool for sci-fi I've really enjoyed these well composed moral stories.

In particular there was an episode about addiction that wrestles with some deeply misunderstood aspects of dependency and the exploitation of a defeated race. The parallels drawn between this and our current opioid/meth epidemic is quite potent.

It's also super cool seeing the touch screen devices, and other ahead of their time tech lingo that is sprinkled within the storylines.

I've been contemplating writing a bit on how at heart we are all Trekkie's. I find the newest installment Discovery to be worth watching as well.

Much to the chagrin of my wife I'm intend to catch up on the entire catalogue and I'm privileged to now call myself a Trekkie...

Well done and good on you for leading the horse to the watering hole that can nourish us with the realization that capitalism and democracy are not synonymous...

I'm not an economics master by any stretch but having lived in first world western world's and second and third eastern world's I'm beginning to see universal basic income as a need of the many.. I can also see blockchain and digital currency playing and integral role in this paradigm shift.

And it is that,its beyond theoretical discussion and thus arguing with those stuck in the old ways is an act in futility.. Nature always finds a balance the longer we as a civilization fight this balancing act the more disastrous and dystopian are future becomes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91