You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FEE has published my memoir of my Refugee Childhood

in #philosophy7 years ago

Thank you so much for share the story with us, I love reading this kind of stories. Every time I share bus with the older people who passed their life in the Khmer rough regime; I always asked them to share with me their story. I used to meet a lady, she was a nurse. She lost all her parents, siblings and event her husband and also daughter because of the civil war in Cambodia. She married to another man, and only her children make her feel that her life is meaningful. I heard about many family that lost their members, but none of my paternal or maternal side had lost any members during the Khmer rough regime; but they lost some of their relatives before and after the Khmer rough regime. While you family moved to live in the refugee, my parents just after their wedding in May 1979; they moved to live in Phnom Penh. I always heard from my parents that living in PP at that time was quite hard as my father continue his study for bachelor degree, he had to ride the Cyclo (tricycle) to gain money in order to survive. We were malnutrition and I could remember myself was so skinny and many people said that I was skinny because of my mum used pesticide to kill mosquito; actually we didn't have enough food, sometime we share 2 duck eggs with 6 members of the family :) I remembered waiting for half a day in hospital with other kids when I was sick. Fortunately we passed that hard time and have today ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69118.60
ETH 3805.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71