You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Smart or Wise?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Interesting topic for sure! I like your description of intelligence being the ability to generate possibilities for how to act. To me intelligence is removed of any ethical or moral component (thanks @bitdollar for mentioning ethics as I don't think you can reasonably discuss this topic devoid of ethics.) So that would mean that intelligence could be used for nefarious purposes - like the typical example of AI gone wild. But wisdom? I'd be curious if anyone would argue that wisdom could be used for evil. So maybe we can say that intelligence is simply the ability to reach an intended outcome by applying known information, while knowledge encompasses that plus the ability (learned or inherent?) to assess the situation for the best possible outcome. Which obviously leads to the question of who decides what is "best". And that, I'd say, is where wisdom comes in. :)

Sort:  

I'd be curious if anyone would argue that wisdom could be used for evil.

That's an excellent point! Maybe we should strive for Artificial Wisdom instead of Artificial Intelligence :)

I wouldn't. Being wise you take your time and you apply something when reached "perfection". This is how I managed to recover my freedom, after 10 years of being raped by my ex. I had to be selfish and to think about how I felt at that time. You have the ability to be "cold" and to take "wise" decisions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63123.52
ETH 3121.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88