How I was, am and will be

in #philosophy6 years ago

Pretty soon I am going to start the drive to the airport to pick up @galenkp and I am actually a little bit nervous. Weird to be nervous to see family isn't it? It has been 12 years (2006) which is a long time thinking that the first iPhone was released in 2007 and Bitcoin began in 2009. I wonder, how much have we changed?

We are not static and even though who we are might not change as we are always us, How we are can change incredibly through experience. The person I was 12 years ago may be fundamentally different to who I am now. Actually, I really hope I am different as I don't want to be the same, I want to grow and expand as the way I see it, to stop growing as a person means to live a life, dead.

Of course, there are many similarities to how I was then and now as personality plays a role in the paths one takes. Two people can experience identical events and come away changed in completely different ways. The example model I hold for this process is those who made it out the Nazi death camps and their lives after. There were two core types based on how they identified with their experience. One group saw themselves as survivors, the other as victims.

The survivors on average went on to live healthier lives with much better personal relationships than those of the victims who tended to create broken relationships. From the research I have read (I will find it later), the distinction was quite stark. Are you a survivor of circumstance, or a victim?

I do not think this is a personality trait set in stone as when I was much younger, I was victimized by life but as I studied myself, my understanding grew into the attitude of a survivor. The why me? was replaced by the Is what it is view. This doesn't mean I do not act, quite the opposite. I tend to now accept circumstances however painful as a challenge to act upon, not one that is outside of my control and I am powerless to combat. What I find that even when I can do nothing, my perspective and attitudes shift enough to make the most out of the situation I face.

I do not know if everyone experiences this but I think it is possible for anyone to shift their attitudes to improve their lives but it seems that the ones who need it the most are also the most unwilling to really investigate their position and attempt different. Often, the victim mentality kicks in at the first hurdles and say, I have tried and failed because of who I am. Maybe that is true but, what about how they am?

Over the next week it is going to be interesting to get to know my brother again, to forget about how I knew him then and instead learn how he is now. He is the same person but, he could be operating fundamentally differently. I wonder how much I have changed in his eyes too but, it doesn't really matter as at the end of the day, it is my attitude toward me that affects my behaviour the most.

I hope that I am improving each day and rather than just being a survivor of challenge, become a creator of opportunity. No matter how long or short a life is, none of us are completely helpless. How we see the world changes how we act, and how we act changes the world in which we live.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

The outlook of a person thinking of himself as a victim is vastly different from the one thinking of himself as a survivor. It is interesting to note that a person can be both at the same time, meaning that a victim may survive through a horrific event.

Now what matters is, how this individual chooses to see his life from that point onwards. The results can vastly differ depending on how they choose to think about themselves. Obviously enough the trauma of the past remains the same no matter what and some are able to move on while others cant.

One thing about victim mentality is that it a is pervasive, particularly these days. A lot of folks are just victims of their own thoughts that allows for the illusion of them being at the mercy of the world.

EDIT:

.....................good luck with meeting your brother :-)

Good luck, Taraz.

I hope you and your brother both prove to be survivors together.

If not, your skill at making lemonade from life's lemons will serve you well.

12 whole years... Good God, I can feel the emotions from over here

Cool i only see my brother every 5 years or so but we instantly start getting along like we saw each other yesterday

That is a normal reaction. You haven't seen him for 12 years but you have stayed in contact and know what each other is doing. It's not all catch up but as your brother both of you would have changed and aged but nothing has changed as such. You have both grown but the base is still there. I hadn't seen my brother for ages and was a little shocked as I hadn't seen photos so had the last picture in my head. It is amazing how the body changes but the person doesn't really.

I didn't want to upvote for a second as it was $7.77 when I was looking at it XP But now you have an extra cent. Sorry XD

Man 12 years is forever (or at least about a third of my life XD). Have an awesome reunion :)

Are you a survivor of circumstance, or a victim?

That can sum up the entirety of a person really, can't it?
Nice.

I haven't seen my bro for over 6 years now...I only wish it was 60!
(that's a 'survivor of circumstance', statement.!!)

I am very happy about you meeting your brother after 12 years.
I have a very strong relationship with my brother (no matter our lives changed in a lot of different ways)
My sister is a little bit different but I love them both forever.....
Just slight frustration that they live in Greece and I'm still in my hometown-birthhouse in Bulgaria...
I love to travel, but the magnitude is always here..
Something has to change... I feel....
In the light!

Dear...@tarazkp
Your story is very much heart touching...

Mat God bless you with happiness! Have a nice day.!

A decade plus is a really long time. So much has changed since you last met, I wish i could witness that very moment you guys reunite for the first time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97