Why is yours

in #philosophy6 years ago

Last night I wrote a poem about suicide and those with questions who are left behind to pick up the pieces of their life. I was asked;

Where does the motivation come from, considering you're not going through a heartbreak?
@empress-eremmy

Motivation is a little understood process I think as people seem to think it is something they need but, it is something they already hold. Motivation is a movement from the internal self to the external world, it is the reason and purpose as to why to act and is therefore personal. People can ascribe it to others but it is false because, no other can act for us. In action, we are alone. Inspiration however is different, it is the external that ignites a flame in the internal and is a catalyst for creating that purpose, a thread on which to create purpose.

For me at least, and I can only speak for myself through observation of my experience, I do not need to be in a situation to be able to write about it or for that matter, be inspired by or motivate to create and act. I have had quite a diverse life that has offered a little of the best and much of the difficult circumstances that are suitable to reflect on. Someone asked me recently if what I write about current circumstances is "real or just Steemit embellishment?"

I don't have the need to embellish in some areas and if there are times I extend the experience in writing, it is in the positive, not the negative. I don't search for sympathy or attention, I am not that kind of animal so when it comes to writing about hardship, I don't need to dig deeply. I withhold a lot as not everything is suitable for immutability.

However, I am also not planning my demise through suicide so, where does the motivation to write about it come from? I think about it a lot from many perspectives, I imagine scenarios, simulate various concepts mentally. But, when it comes to the experience of it, I have a past.

This is actually why I wrote the poem last night, to get in touch with my past so that I can write something else about the topic. As said, I have had a full life in some regard and near desert in others which means conflict and psychological disturbance. When I write, I write from my experiences (what else can one do) and my fiction is a creative extension of a lifetime of events, and my Steem posts are a look at Steem from what experience has taught me. When it comes to inspiration, it is literally everywhere and I do not understand why so many people have so much trouble finding things to write about unless, their experiences of life are also very limited.

I don't need to be going through a heartbreak to write about it as I have known heartbreak. Similarly, I don't need to be contemplating suicide to have suicidal thoughts. We all have our approaches to life and one of mine is to think a lot about a lot of things, to engage my experience to try to understand the world and, simulate what the future may become based on what the past has taught.

The past is always growing and for each life, the future is continually reducing. People spend their time avoiding life, burying themselves into entertainment and then wonder where life has gone, where their youth faded away to. Living a life in fear of judgement of themselves and by others by not living a life at all. Avoidance. But, that is just my opinion and, my experience.

When it comes to putting my experience on the blockchain I hope for reward. Yes, I hope that I get monetary rewards but, I hope that my experiences of this life and the way I see the world has value in itself, that someone will take an idea I have and build upon it or, hear some words based on what I know and then, improve their own experience, think again, grow. My entire blog is based on my life experiences and I hope that there is value in them for others, not just myself.

It is shared experience that creates a community and a large part of that sharing is an inspirational catalyst for personal motivation. Experiencing poverty may move someone to help those in need. Experiencing illness may push for other's health. Experiencing love can only result in the understanding that it is all that really matters.

Why we do the things we do is our experience to contemplate. The motivation for me to write is mine, the experiences are mine but, we likely have a lot more in common than what separates us.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I can't really pinpoint where my motivation comes from when I write the little that I do, it's sometimes experiences, or something I heard about, or could even be something I thunk up. But the beautiful thing is, putting a pen on paper, and just letting your mind take you where it wants to go. At least that happens for me.

Quite true. life isn't static and experiences are diverse. The motivation can literally pop up from anywhere in that box

You are right, there is a box, most just stay firmly in the middle of it :)

Life would be a whole lot better if we focused on what we agree upon rather then quibble over the small disagreements.

If we could only learn from the words and stories of others instead of having to learn from our own negative experiences Our wisdom would increase ten fold

It seems most would prefer to make the same mistakes in average areas than learn from others and explore wider.

I think we can agree a writer is a mysterious being... capable of masking or painting a real-life experience be it his, hers or someone else's. What the writer chooses to write though can never actually be used to assume like their truth or journey. Or so I believe :)

What the writer chooses to write though can never actually be used to assume like their truth or journey.

I think it is impossible to assume (though many do) yet, experience still reflects through the writing, it may not just be the direct experience of what is written about.

Loading...

Living a life in fear of judgement of themselves and by others by not living a life at all.

Yes I agree with this statement. I think that being fearful of other judgement cause a person to miss some of the wonderful opportunity in being alive.

When it comes to putting my experience on the blockchain I hope for reward. Yes, I hope that I get monetary rewards but, I hope that my experiences of this life and the way I see the world has value in itself, that someone will take an idea I have and build upon it or, hear some words based on what I know and then, improve their own experience, think again, grow.

Me too. I also hope for rewards but most of all, I do hope that my personal opinion could bring out more positive thinking in this platform or maybe other could leave me a comment and gaves me some positivity in life too.
Kind of motivating each other

My entire blog is based on my life experiences and I hope that there is value in them for others, not just myself.

Yes, you did gave a value for others and I am one of them. Thank you.
I might not be able to catch up with you but whenever I see your post in my feed, I really would love to read it.

Firstly I must appreciate the way you clarified and abundantly illustrating motivation and inspiration alike. All what you said about the two are universal truth , motivation takes ur origin from the inside and has effect on the outside while inspiration takes it origins from the outside and set some fire burning on the inside.
The diversity at which you elaborated on these two is audible for the deef and visible to the blind. You’re much appreciated

oops, sorry - ignore that last message - FOX might have had something to do with it also! lol
(oops , just noticed that!..lol)

....but then again , it was only lasso entertainment that complained - not fox (I'm new to you tube, if you hadn't noticed...)

Loading...

Experiences can be picked up from virtually any path. They do not necessarily have to be lived by us, even observations can form experiences

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28