You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Philosophy in Unlikely Places: Honesty, Contentment, and Two Really Stupid Cartoon Characters

in #philosophy6 years ago

Along with Ren and stimpy, and sometimes Rocco's Modern Life, Beavis and Butthead was out of the question in my house as well (thankfully King of the Hill was permissable so I got to enjoy some of Mike Judge's work). I am really surprised that I didn't work to rectify this earlier, but I have really not seen any significant amount since becoming an adult. I know what my next gift to myself will be.

The philosophies that you identified in the show really resonate with what I consider to have been my initial mindset, but I allowed to be subverted by faux authories you reference. I have put in a lot of work to unlearn the people pleasing tendencies that replaced my skeptical, internally-fufilling tendencies that spelled trouble for the education, parental and religious systems I was raised in. Systems that advised self-interest as immoral, demanded unconditional respect, among other assaults on reason and liberties, pose much more danger than kids pulling their shirts on top of this head and talking about their bungholes. Here's to not shying away from the truths of life and realizing our perceptions create our reality, so might as well laugh ;*

Sort:  

I think I found that set for like $20 and it came with all the seasons and the movie. They are edited kind of weird because some of the music videos are removed because Viacom (I think that is who owns MTV) lost the rights to run them as part of the show so they come on a separate disk. You can still find some on YouTube though.

Haha Yeah I got away with those other two but Beavis and Butthead always had to be something that I watched in secret. The references are a little dated now (they did a reboot for one season in 2011 so that one isn't too bad) but the comedy really holds up.

I loved King of the Hill too and I have been buying the seasons slowly over the last few years. Mike Judge really produces some great content as long as the networks/ studios allow him to do what he wants to do. Office Space is still one of my favorite movies and Silicon Valley is a solid show too. The only thing that really failed for him was The Goode Family and I think it was Comedy Central that really screwed it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91