Descartes Error: A Propositional Poem

in #philosophy4 years ago (edited)

Descartes,_"L'homme_et_un_traitte..."_Wellcome_L0025506.jpg source

Thinking on the thinking of
Rene Descartes again,
"I think, therefore I am.",
Methinks he thinks to tell us twice
He is because he thinks.
Methinks this thinking on this thought,
That none can sure object,
That Descartes becomes the object,
While the thinking is subject...

If thinking is the agent and
Rene becomes subjected,
Then the object is the subject
And the subject is objected.

Or the object is the thinking
If Rene becomes subject,
Then the thinking is subjected to
The objects thinking subject.

But if the object is the thought,
"I think, therefore I am.", then
Whose subjection is the thought,
"Descartes the thinking man." Hm?

If the principle is unified
Descartes becomes elated,
And the subject is the object
And the object is negated.

If the object and the subject
As a Void are thoughtless thought,
Multiplicity is clarified,
Rene Descartes’ conception dies;
"I think, therefore I’m not.".

by TheMillionThings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60