You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Blockchain Won’t Save Us

in #philosophy6 years ago

It is the false beliefs that make otherwise good people do bad things.

It's like hearing Socrates again, ''Vice is ignorance''.

I believe that we live in the age of scientism, where a certain kind of ''logic'' has been established and dictates what is what in many fields of life in general, not just science.

I agree with you totally on this, epistemology and critical thinking are indispensable allies in order to discern what indeed constitutes a bad belief from a false belief. The key is discernment and it's indeed what we must strive for.

I recommed reading Nassim Nicholas Taleb's book The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable in case you haven't. Trust me on that. Great post!

Sort:  

I’m no Socrates but I like the comparison! I looked up the quote:

"All vice is the result of ignorance, and that no person is willingly bad; correspondingly, virtue is knowledge, and those who know the right will act rightly.”

He got it right long before I did, I’m just suggesting the reason behind it.

I did read “The Black Swan” after the 2008 crash an liked it so much I read his other book: “Fooled by Randomness” which is also a good read. Taleb is an interesting character. He does the opposite of conventional wisdom. He’s always playing many small “long shots” for big wins and it works for him!

Great comment and insights! Thanks so much for the reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71