You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Social Conformity the Survival of the Fittest?

Many people change with the wind when conflict, pressure, interference and fiction appears. They don't hold onto principles or values that should guide them.

Conviction!

Most people don't have it anymore because when somebody asks them "What is that?" they immediately switch topics or act all insecure because they stand for something someone doesn't agree with or finds hilarious.

People have become tourists, universalists, nobodies. There are not a lot of individuals with character out there anymore because of fear.

Fear of loss, fear of being alone, that causes them to fit in.

What is the best thing to do? Conform in order to maintain social 'cohesion', 'integrity' and 'order' of the group no matter what is right or wrong? Or to stick to and stand for principles and values; to be in cohesion and integrated with those values and principles, even if that gets us excluded, rejected, outcast or ostracized?

I am an outcast because I stand for the things I believe in. What I believe in is reflected in my work, in my words, in the clothes that I wear & and more.

Claiming the forest.jpg

I walk my own path for such a long time that I have gotten used to it. Of course there are a lot of contras to that but I prefer to live my life like I want to and not like how others want to.

Freedom comes with great responsibility, solitude & danger.

Sort:  

Indeed, we have attachments to people and externalizing our sense of self-worth, value and meaning in life through others being in our lives. For many, if other people are not present, there is a sense of being devalued, worthless, etc. Standing alone is hard work, socially and psychologically.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69643.83
ETH 3699.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26