Morning Thoughts ~ Do "you" make me feel or do "I" allow myself to feel?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I've recently pondered this notion, following continued personal reflection, as well as coming across some related literature. We are used to expressions of this nature >>> a certain situation makes me feel like this, that person made me feel this way, such and such an event gives me these emotions (or lack of) ... etc etc ...

But is it really an "outsider" "making" us feel a certain way? Is it not within our control, at least to some degree, as to what we feel, thus making it really only our internal responsibility and not the responsibility of an external force? The external force's intention is not being denied or in question here - what's in question is the reaction of the "receiver" (or lack of receiving) and any logic or justification for placing responsibility of that reaction back on the external force ... This can be observed in many types of relationships, be it between two humans, humans and nature etc etc ...

Perhaps there is no clear cut line, and it is indeed a two-way flow?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54