It Is Always Obvious What Will We Do With Out Free Will. So How Free Is It?

in #philosophy7 years ago

Ironically, there is nothing more constrained in our lives than free will. I mean, do you think that when you make a decision you do it on your own? Do you think that your decision is not already determined and known? I kind of doubt it.

I personally believe in destiny so you can understand how the idea of free will (even though it exist) sounds a little silly. However, let's take destiny out of the equation and things don't change. Even without such a thing as destiny, it is already obvious what the outcome will be even before we begin.

For example, a girl goes shopping to buy a dress and she sees only two dresses, one red and another blue. She can do 4 things - buy both dresses, buy only red one, buy only blue one, or don't buy at all. It looks like she has to make that decision on her own, using her free will, but if you analyze her alright, you can see that she has made her decision even before the situation arisen. In this example, let's make the girl hate the red color and let's not give her enough money to buy two dresses. It means she is left with 2 out of 4 decisions. However, let's assume she must buy this dress because otherwise, someone she loves will die (pretty logical scenario, isn't it?). Well, she is left with the only choice - to buy a red dress. And she will do it.

Everything works like that in our lives. The only difference is that our characteristics, traits, and reasoning might not always be this simple so it is hard to determine what are we going to choose. However, if you gather all the information (by all, I mean all) about certain people, you can know how they free will works. So is that stupid will free after all?

Sort:  

Good post

So much information @writingamigo thanks for sharing.

very good reflection...

i appreciate your words...love to read your blogs....

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :]

Good question:)

I would say, the will is free when I think it is.

As I live from one moment to the other I can choose between the feelings. Do I want to feel bad about that I actually have only a certain amount of freedom or am I contend with whats left for me. Totally subjective.

As me buying the blue dress do not consider if someones life depends on my choice I feel free to do so. When I think of a particular person who might suffer without an income - say an Indian worker which dyes cloth into blue - I probably would re-evaluate my freedom. I limit my freedom of choice whenever I start to consider the subject and gain information about it. That either could reduce my willingness or increase it to act on something or to leave it.

Of course I can take my will to decide in not following the law of attraction, though that is not easy to do.

If my notion of the world is that I am mostly forced to act or react or imprisoned into the swarms intention, I may get depressed. When I am oblivious about influences from the outside, I would consider myself more free.

Good day for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86