Phishing Messages + FAQ

in #phishing6 years ago (edited)

If you received this message from me it's because your account was compromised at some point or is still compromised. If you've recovered ownership since then, please let me know.

Currently there are 247 accounts on the compromised/recovered/spawned phishing list. The total of accounts that were restored prior to the list being made puts it well over 300.

Phishing FAQ

Q: How do I avoid being a victim?
A: Don't click on random links or trust websites that ask you for your keys/password unless you're 100% they're legitimate.

Q: What about mobile apps?
A: There are many phishing mobile apps out there. Don't install them unless you've verified them and don't put in your password.

Q: How do I keep my money safe?
A: Use your private posting key and don't trust anything that asks for your password.

Q: What do I do if hackers use my account to spam but I can still log in?
A: Change your password if you start seeing strange comments.

Q: What do I do if my money was moved to someone but I didn't move it myself?
A: Change your password immediately.

Q: How do I avoid phishing?
A: Don't trust comments and messages that promise you easy money -- there is no such thing. You wanting it to be true won't make it true.

Q: My follower asked me to click on a link, should I?
A: Don't click on things just because someone told you to.

Q: How do I speed up my account restoration?
A: Use the email address you signed up with when you do the account restoration.

Q: Should I wait to fill out the Stolen Account Recovery form?
A: No. Restore your account immediately after being locked out -- it can take well over 24 hours.

Q: Should I delete all the comments the hackers posted?
A: Don't delete flagged comments -- just edit them to change the text.

Q: I deleted the comments, can you take the flags off?
A: No. Remember that deleted comments can't be unflagged.

Q: How can I help fight phishing?
A: Tell your friends/family to be careful of phishing links and make a warning post to warn your followers.

Q: How do I get back the SBD/STEEM the hackers stole?
A: Stolen money can't be returned.


Like what we're doing? Support us as a Witness.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
At the bottom, type in guiltyparties
Click VOTE


Sort:  

Thank you, dear @guiltyparties, you have the spirit of martial arts and you are fighting phishing. this is a very useful post. with this post I hope all users are more careful with phishing comments.
you are great. Thank you

Thanks man, I try to keep on top of things it's one of the reasons I won't use the botting services.
I just wish more people would follow me over here and we could roll together.
Problem is most of my people don't realize allot of what you read on-line is a lie.

It's sad that people work so hard on steemit and one false click can ruin them and their account as well as drain their SBD/steem.

I have seen so many people fall victim to these scammers.

Good work, team.

Привет.Почему Вы,решили,что аккаунт взломан.Все хорошо.У меня нет еще денег. СПАСИБО.Но меня это беспокоит.Я здесь еще ничего не знаю.

это потомучто два дня назад вы перевели деньги в https://steemit.com/@muks --- этот аккаунт взломан и много денег туда потерены

Thanks for the heads up. I plan to resteem this asap.

My favorite line: "Don't click on things just because somebody told you to." It's a brave new world, and we have to think for ourselves.

Thanks to @josephsavage, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

my account hi heck by unknown people can be taken back do not please help

Thanks a lot for the explanation! Sheds a bit of light. I just commented on @simplymike's post that I still have a hard time understanding the exact use of the various keys.

How do I keep my money safe?
A: Use your private posting key and don't trust anything that asks for your password.

I still don't get how (where) to use the Private Posting Key. I use chrome and my account is always logged in except if I clean the browsing data. So I am never asked to use the Private Posting Key... hence my confusion...

Thank you!

It could be that your browser saved your password the first time you logged in. This would mean you log in with your master password every time. Just to be sure, I would clean my browser data, and then use the private posting key to log in, so that one can be saved. You should keep your master password somewhere safe and use it only to change your keys (which is like never - lol)

Once logged in with your private posting key, you will be asked to log in with your private active key every time you send money to someone.

According to chrome, no password was saved. But I read somewhere that this is not the way Steemit keeps being logged in. I can imagine it's more with a cookie or something else..

Thanks again for taking the time to answer @simplymike!

Just clear your cookies and cache of your browser. I think that should do it

Thanks for the reminder! Just changed my pw just in case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74