How I photographed coffee beans for a new coffee brand

in #photo6 years ago

I'm sometimes able to combine my hobbies. I like to design and I like to take photographs. As part of a project I as a graphic designer, I needed to create several pictures of coffee beans that could be used on a coffee label. This post will be dedicated to how I achieved the results displayed in the post.


A picture of me photographing some coffee beans! Alright, this is on sand, but the best results were those photographed on the tiles ;)

What I like about food photography, is that you don’t really need expensive materials. While this is true for most types of photography, there are still some advantages that helped me out when taking these photographs. First of all, the beans were extremely small. Therefore, you don’t need a large background.

Materials used

  • A camera (Nikon D600 with 50mm 1.8 lens)
  • Light (can be natural light only)
  • Coffee beans
  • Burlap
  • Tripod

I photographed most of these beans on the tiles in the kitchen of my boyfriend’s parents. They had this lovely color which contrasted beautifully with the brown color of the beans.

Process

Allright! On to the fun stuf, meaning I will actually tell you how I did it now ;). The first, but an important step was to seperate the perfect looking beans from those that were not photo-worthy. This is important to make it look as tasteful as possible.

Next, we could position them where the light was best. The light in the Kitchen was quite bright. There were these windows that are faced south and are as high as the walls. Therefore, I didn’t need a flash. The sky was very cloudy, which meant that the light was evenly spread among the coffee beans.

What I did not like was that the shades were still very dark. To solve this, I used a studio lamp with an umbrella. The light of this lamp was not very strong, so I had to hold it really close with one hand, to shoot the picture with the other. In order to make this a bit easier, I used a tripod. It prevented some camera shake as well.

Results

The results are some stock-worthy pictures ;). Some editing needed to be done before the final results could be used on the label. However, I won’t elaborate on this editing in this post. Stay tuned for a Lighroom tutorial!

Coffee beans
Contrasty colors

Round shapes
Round shape coffee beans

more beans!
More beans!

Even more beans!
It never ends! Fair enough, it does, this was the last picture.

What do you think? I will soon post the results of the graphic labels when they are finished :)

Sort:  

This was fun thanks. I am also very interested in learning the art of photography.
Following you

Thank you! What I found out is that you have to keep making photographs and you will improve quickly :)
I will do many more of these posts. Thank you for following me! :)

Excelllent I look forward to them - please check my work too if you have a moment.

Cool pictures I'm just getting into photography :)

In the beginning, it is important to take many pictures, and you will see improvement quickly! I will keep sharing my experiences, which might help you to improve :)

Congratulations @alieke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool! waiting for lighroom tutorial)

Thanks! I will post it soon :)

Congratulations @alieke, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 4249 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $694.65. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

That is great, thank you!

Quite interesting. Nice camera and lens. Did you brew a cup of coffee with the beans when you finished photographing them?

Thank you :). To be honest, I don't like the taste of coffee! The beans smell amazing, but that is all I like about coffee haha. However, my boyfriend likes it, so he did brew coffee out of the beans afterwards ;)

I drink way too much coffee. takes another sip

Haha, I know, you either love it or you hate it. There is no in between ;)

Beautiful work! Loved it. I will look forward to the Lightroom tutorial.

Thank you! I have it planned for tomorrow! :)

Great! Thank you for sharing the information. :)

Nice even so simple things like coffee beans can look so great on pictures. Nice work

Thank you!

Wow. Amazing. It is a good way to introduce and integrate photographers in steemit. Photographers will have good reasons to stay. Giving us a stage to grow. Thank you!

Thank you for the nice compliment, I'll try to continue adding as much value as possible regarding photography. :)

capturing coffee beans is very clever and you made some great photographs !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84