Modern Stained Glass in Wuppertal (Germany)

in #photo5 years ago


When I'm travelling for work, I sometimes I play in churches that also have a concert series. A few months back, I played in this church (Alte lutherische Kirche am Kolk) in Wuppertal in Germany. Whilst playing in the performance, I found myself being quite entranced (yes yes... doing my job...) by the stained glass windows.

Often old churches have incredibly beautiful original stained glass. However, many of the newer churches forgo the extra cost of these decorations. This was a newer church that did have them, and obviously they were quite a more modern style with interesting sorts of motifs. For some reason, there was quite an heavy emphasis on a particular eye motif!

I'm not really such a fan of the modern styles of the stained glass, but I do find them interesting none the less.

Anyway, I will leave you with a few shots that I took after the concert with my phone. I'm afraid I'm not a great photographer, but is just more of a taster shot!








Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/11/04/modern-stained-glass-in-wuppertal-germany/

Sort:  

Incredibly beautiful. Thank you for sharing @bengy :)

They are very nice, but strange designs!

Stained glass windows are beautiful! I remember from my visit to Spain there were so many beautiful stained glass windows to see. One day hopefully I will be able to visit more of Europe!

Yes, I much prefer the old styles of stained glass... somehow they seem to be more intricate... the more modern ones seem to favour larger panes (areas) of glass and sometimes some quite bizarre motifs....

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bengy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=modernstainedglassinwuppertalgermany-8ke8smualp


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97