Stitching 'N' Bitching- The Ones that Never Saw the Light.

in #photo6 years ago

I am pretty notorious for starting projects and sometimes... not finishing them.


I have created some pretty bomb pieces of needlework (If I do say so myself). But by the same token, I have a myriad of poor creations that never saw the light of completion and display.

I figured since I've shared my successes with the blockchain, it would only be fair to share my failures and shortcomings.

Without further ado, here are some of my never-finished-but-not-forgotten projects!




My first cross stitch project.

bitch.jpg

With this one, I had learned how to make the X's and then I took straight to pinterest, found a small perler bead pattern, and I was off!

I spent half of the time I wasn't stitching texting my best friend and asking her if I was doing all the things correctly.

The back was a mess. Nay. A disaster. (But much of my project backs still are after years of stitching. I simply do not have the patience to make a "neat" piece.)

I basically lost interest after I did the lettering and figured the phrase was stupid. It is kicking around in a box somewhere. Maybe I'll finish it someday!




The Supernatural fiasco.

supernatural.jpg

Along with abandoned cross stitch, I have plenty of abandoned embroidery projects.

This one... this one was a rage quit.

I was making this while I was sick with bronchitis and sitting in a waiting room at the hospital while I waited for my grandma to finish having surgery.

I tediously sketched it out, erasing and redrawing more times than I care to recall.

I picked the thread and started sewing, both at the hospital. Because nothing says "Don't talk to me" like a crackling cough and stitching something that a bible thumper would think screams "HAIL SATAN!".

When I took it out at home and put a light on it I found that the color that I thought was blacker-than-the-blackest-black was in fact... navy blue.

I threw it outside.

v




My beloved Sailor Moon Chibi.

Smoon.jpg

I spent forever tracing/drawing this one onto the fabric.

I was so in love with it and was really enjoying the project.

Annnnnnd then I spilled coffee on it. I think I actually cried a little.

The plan was to hit the fabric with watercolors to mask the stain but every time I looked at the ruined fabric I got incredibly discouraged and put it away.

I am unsure of its location. (I am not very fastidious)




The Nyan Cat bookmark.

nyan.jpg

I just got incredibly bored with this one.

There is no dramatic tale of stupidity or clumsy spills. I enjoyed doing his little poptart body... but his butt rainbow was tedious.

I wasn't sure how long to make said butt rainbow.

I basically got the shits with it and never finished it. I think it is somewhere and backed with felt. But is unused.




My darling zombie kitten.

zombit.jpg

This was before I knew to label my thread with their color numbers and store them properly.

I have no idea what colors I used, but I could never seem to match the proper thread ever again. I tried for weeks. I even took it to the store and waded through all the colors, swearing while I crouched in the aisle, placing a millions colors of rotten green next to my project.

Eventually, I admitted defeat.

So he is incomplete and sadly mewling for brains somewhere in the bottom of a box.




In closing, here is one tiny project that I did complete. And honestly, it is one of my favorites.

cupcake.jpg

ADORABLE CUPCAKE!



This one ended up being my first completed bookmark.

I soaked it in modge podge and adhered felt to it to create a very robust (and mostly waterproof) bookmark!

The tassle themselves where made from snippings of the floss used to stitch him!

cupcake2.jpg

It is my go-to bookmark. Right now, he resides in either a book by Charles Bronson or Stephen King. Every time I look at it, I squee.

And I think that makes up for the many I haven't finished.

Maybe?




stitchhead.png

Gif credit to giphy!

Sort:  

This post has received a 20.00 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @sammosk.

Adorable cupcake is everything I want to be! Love love love it. Also I feel you on the unfinished projects... I like the batter waaaaay more than the brownies, ya know what I mean?

YES! Totally!
I should make more of those cupcakes! He was really fun to make!

You should make them and sell it on steemit. These are too adorable!

I totally should! Great idea!

Hello @stitchybitch, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86