Orangutan - Sepilok, Borneo

in #photo6 years ago

IMG_4826.jpg

Orang-utans are beautiful strong apes.
They're habitats are being diminished greatly on Borneo due to palm oil plantations destroying their forest environment.

I took this photo at Sepilok rehabilitation centre where orang-utans are re released into the wild and then the growing communities are supported when required. A great project and I feel so honoured to have seen these fabulous animals up so close.

Sort:  

#saveorangutan. It really devastating when I heard an orangutan was shots with several bullet, point blank.. it's on last month news I suppose. But still... Sad...

That's devestating. I hadn't heard that. :(

In Borneo the Palm Oil industry is destroying their habitats, and I'd imagine it's happening in other areas where Orang-Utans live.

Get Votes And Reward By Posting Photos On Steem-Lover And Increase Your Reputation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75