Grabbing a Glimpse of Nature

in #photocicrcle6 years ago

Grabbing a Glimpse of Nature

I awake to pounding sounds on the roof. It’s dark outside. Summer has drawn to a close; it’s October with its uppity and down weather that brings a cold snap and early snow. Slowly I approach the window grabbing my first glimpse of nature for the day. I observe a Steller’s Jay pounding with beak on a sunflower seed—apparent attempt to crack open the shell.

Least Chipmunks.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Grabbing a Glimpse of Nature: Least Chipmunks playing catch-me-if-you-can.

Steller's Jay

Steller's Jay.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Steller's Jay caught in a moment of cuteness.

My hanging bird feeders attract birds year round. It's only in the last few weeks after most of the summer migratory birds departed did a group of Steller’s Jays appear.
Steller's Jay 7.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Steller's Jay poses holding sunflower seed

Each day before dawn these Jay's arrive to take offerings. Steller's Jays and other year-round bird residents spent most of the summer months in the nearby Ponderosa Pine forests. Now, perhaps with less competition from the summer birds, the Jays begin daily visits to the feeders.

WINTER COMPANIONS
These winter companions provide me with my first glimpse of nature each morning. Greeting the day, slowly raising the window shade, I watch the early arrivals at the several bird feeders I provide.

Dark-eyed Juncos

Dark-eyed Junco a.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Dark-eyed Junco b.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Dark-eyed Juncos are some of my favorites to watch

The bird feeders located outside my window allow for a close-up views of the individual species and afford a wonderful vantage point to observe behaviors and to photograph.

Cassin's Finch

Cassin's Finch.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Cassin's Finch, more formal portrait

At times when sorting through the photos I am drawn to cropping just for the faces that look more like portraits, imbued with feelings. When the birds are this close we seem to make eye contact while I take pictures and they almost at times appear to strike a poses. Though I suspect I capture what is simply a moment of their normal behavior and activities.

Steller’s Jays are very skittish and when I get close to the window they fly off immediately to a nearby tree before quickly returning as soon as I step away from the window. They never seems to get comfortable with my close proximity.

Mountain Chickadee

Mountain Chickadee.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

Mountain Chickadee approaching a sunflower seed

Mountain Chickadee a.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

I am somewhat transfixed looking at this image of a Mountain Chickadee

I am mostly ignored by the smaller daily regulars, Juncos, Chickadees and Nuthatches, as they go about picking seeds from the feeders, or hopping about collecting seeds that fall to the roof below.

White-breasted Nuthatch

White-breasted Nuthatch.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

White-breasted Nuthatch demonstrating the proper way to hold sunflower seed

The bird feeding activity is generally a constant—from pre-dawn to dusk with some unexplained breaks during the day.

Black-billed Magpie

Black-billed Magpie b.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature

This beautiful looking bird rests on an Aspen branch

The black-billed Magpie is one of the larger birds to visit the feeders and have acquired the skill to snatch single bites from the hanging suet while they hover in mid-air.

SURPRISE VISITORS
Every once in awhile there are surprises: birds that are infrequent guests and that may show up only once, or for a day or two. Last week for the first time what I believe to be an American Crow arrived to check out the feeding scene. I say, "what I believe to be an American Crow" as it is not easy for me to tell them apart from the Common Raven that are residents in this valley.

American Crow

American Crow.jpg

Original Photography by @DickieNature
This American Crow checking out the scene did not stay around. It was the first time I have seen a crow here.

Bird drawing.jpg

Original Artwork "Perching Bird" by @DickieNature

This is my first solo flight in creating and posting here on Steemit, learning about protocols and the technical end of things and using “markups” for the first time (I hope I got it right). I must thank @EagleSpirt for introducing me to Steemit and getting me started on what I suspect will be quite an adventure.

I want to express my gratitude to all the birds and the rest of the amazing nature that supports all the life that make up this uniquely incredible planet we share.

I look forward to making more posts and hearing from you.
Yours,
Dickie

Photos: Canon 5D;24-105mm and 5D Mark IV; EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
Artwork: Created using a Wacom Intuos pro tablet and Photoshop

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Be glad to! Thanks for letting me know, I am so new to all of this.
Cheers!

Congratulations @dickienature! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

awesome Dickie!! I didn’t see you had been posting this is fantastic and beautiful my friend.

YOURS,

eagle spirit

Thank you! I will keep going!
Cheers!

hello and cheers!!

Been very busy the past few days. Work...work More later this week as I get some breathing room. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62