Turning your bedroom into a camera!!!

in #photocircle4 years ago

1.jpg

Camera Obscura
This process was heaps of fun!

Using one of our bedrooms I covered the window with aluminum foil, this worked and absolute treat! I was totally blown away by the result.

2.jpg

At first I started off with a hole that was about 5mm in diameter. You can see the results in the 3 photos that are shot at an angle in the bedroom.

3.jpg

These 3 impressions are noticeably sharper than the final image that was created using a hole of about 20mm in diameter.
It was super trippy sitting in the dark room having the outside slowly appear as your eyes adjusted to the light, at first it was hard to make out what was what but after viewing my first exposure I was recognise things much clearer and yeah it was like being inside of a drawing from the book Animalia!
Another thing that just happened to work out was the sky and trees being exposed on the blanket on the bed which had these cool patterns all through it which make the sky almost look like water with ripples going through it.

4.jpg

5.jpg

In two of the photo's I tried doing portraits, one is of my partner laying out on the deck which as you will be able to see had the effect of making her look very short. The other is of myself and in an attempt to get a kind of double exposure of the position I tried moving about halfway through the exposure, which worked out to leave a solid impression and a somewhat ghostly impression of myself.

To capture the photo's of the smaller hole impressions I used my SLR in bulb mode and exposed the photo's for around 200 seconds at f/2.8 and ISO400
For the larger hole my settings were f/2.8 and ISO 400 again but only exposed for 60 seconds.

I still have it setup and want to see what I can capture as the sun sets this afternoon, unfortunately it's a new moon so no moon rise but I'm eager to see if I can capture the backyard at night too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66