You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diaries of an addict #6 - Wasn't fun

I don't know where to begin! I am still shaking from only reading this travel story! You speak so casually about slopes and scorching sun and 50% chance of death! That call to prayer looked like it was waiting for cyclists like you taking too much hay on their fork (pray now: you will need it!).

I thoroughly enjoyed your writing and the very illustrative pictures. It must have taken almost as much effort to relive the whole adventure so clearly again as the actual cycling!

We don't know our limits till we try them, but sometimes we might be wise to hazzard a sensible guess!
Cycling on the road is probably a nightmare in every country: all drivers of cars seem to be in an irritated rush and forget how vulnerable one is without a metal cage around you.

I also happened to land on your photo collection at insgain.com and the many photos of your bike reminded me of Alban Gerhardt (cellist) who takes pictures of his cellojust like you (lonely violin series on his twitter account. Couldn't read much there of course on that insgain account, but I remember many from your posts.

When's your next dare-devil tour! Waiting till Autumn might be a good idea!

Sort:  

Oh, I should edit that part, i meant "50% higher chance of death compared to cycling in the highway" and it's based solely on my feelings.

That call to prayer looked like it was waiting for cyclists like you taking too much hay on their fork

That's what came to my mind when I saw the sign.

It must have taken almost as much effort to relive the whole adventure so clearly again as the actual cycling!

Thanks to the camera attached to handlebar, taking those photos didn't take any time. (they're actually snapshots of videos I took, except for those photos with the bike in them)
But writing the story did take as much as the event itself. Reviewing the videos, finding a good frame to extract,editing photos, remembering the things that happened... aahhh...

but sometimes we might be wise to hazzard a sensible guess!

Things start to go haywire when we think too much about what's risky, what's not. lol

Cycling on the road is probably a nightmare in every country

I heard some countries (specially in Europe) have intercity roads for bikes.

That website shows my instagram photos. I've been more active on instagram before steemit, but now I'm more active here.

Just checked his tweeter, Though the photos have a lonely feeling, but his face does not.

I guess it happens once a year, so maybe next summer. The previous one was last summer.
I think basically I do these when I get bored, so bored.

Yes it's true. In the Netherlands you can ride from City to City and rarely share the same road or path as the Cars. From where I live I can ride all the way to Zutphen, a distance of 41 Km, and only share pavement with the cars for about 12 Km of the trip. Where the speed limit is 80 Km/hour there is always a bicycle trail or an alternate route and where the speed limit is 60 km/h or less you might have to share the road with Cars, but not always.

Edit: Bicycle handle bars are not a good place for Cameras, too much vibration. If you attach the camera to a hat or helmet, your neck acts as a shock absorber, and the camera will film whatever you are looking at instead of following the front wheel. Just a thought.

Hope they do the same here, someday.

Yeah, That's right, but because of a very minor eye problem, I hold my head a little bit tilted all the time, and also I don't like the point of view when it's attached to the helmet. But I also have a chest strap, which is better than attaching to handlebar, but I just found it easier to attach it to the handlebar. ( I should be lazy at some point. lol)

For that distance and that heat, a 50cc Moped would be a good choice, but the dangers in traffic are the same as on your bicycle.

Your English is really good and I saw on the post of a mutual friend you had a hard time following what she was saying. To tell the truth, I have to really work to follow some of her work, so don't let that scare you, you're doing great!

May peace be with you.

For that distance and that heat, a 50cc Moped would be a good choice

Maybe a good choice for that distance and heat, but not for me! I want go places with my bike, I climbed a mountain with my bike (not necessarily riding it.), I drove the car with my bike in the back seat.

Thanks for letting me know, sometimes I think maybe she is the one with bad English. (even though I know she's an English teacher). You know, the same way some doctors are more prone to the same illness their good at curing it and even die because of that illness.

May peace be with you.

Thanks, you too.

Many writing styles are possible and some are really hard to follow. There is a book by James Joyce titled Portrait of the artist as a young man. In this short book he uses direct quotation of thought. This is very difficult to follow since thoughts often do not follow chronological order, but jump around to events that are related at random. This why James Joyce is tough to read, even for native English speakers. English is my 3rd language, but it is the one I have spoken the longest. As such I do not have the full command of nuance and depth in any language I speak, even my own. At least I can fail in 3 languages and sound good doing it, lol.

Yeah, that's true, but it makes it hard for me to upvote some of her blog post, or comment on them, because I don't understand many parts of the post, even though I spend 10 minutes for a post that steempeak says should take 5 min to read. (@sukhasanasister)

What do you suggest for someone who wants to learn his third language? (what language, how to learn and ...)

I personally find that immersing yourself (moving to another country, or joining a groups of native speakers) is probably the quickest way to learn. I speak 2 Germanic languages fluently, and one mostly based in Latin. This allows me to branch out relatively easy into German, Spanish, and pick up some Italian and Portuguese as well, but only for the basics. Spanish would be a good one in the western world, and I would think Chinese is interesting if it wasn't for their writing and 76, or so, dialects. There are about 6000 characters in the Chinese alphabet. Russian could be interesting in that in many former soviet block Countries, it is still commonly spoken as a second language. Either way, you should probably make your choice based on what you think would be the most useful to you. Considering your location; Arabic?

I can ride all the way to Zutphen

.... what on earth makes you pick that city....

I picked that city as I know every square cm, every bump in the pavement and every tree I can crash into on that route.

Glad we are not speaking in metaphors.

No, just giving an example I know really well.

It feels ever more metaphorical from what I know. Blog week 13.

Eventhough, it is only half of a clue why that city of all the cities in all the world looks so weird on my screen in a sentence written by you, I would like to point out that you may have missed something, Mr. Eagle Eye. Ha. Makes my day. Hiding in plain sight. Still got it in me.
I give you my hand and you didn't take it.
Several posts back.
I remember thinking is this a detail I want to leave in?

Unless of course, I understimate my opponent in this game of chess-reply.
That will take a re-read. For now I call check.

Blog post or comment post?
I'm not going to Bangkok, I seek something closer to home.

Technical Q. I think we're on somebody else's post and therefore your reply here is not showing up. I was just wondering sometime between tomorrow and yesterday (I think it is...Saturday), that one misses replies like that. I've had it happen before. See I need a mapmaker, forever lost around here.

No, there is a lag. It does show up. Sometimes it is a long one between what is up and what shows up under "replies". That has happened before too. Must be something like that sneaky bit of time banks use to transfer your money to keep it in mid air....
Then the Q is do these replies also just sink and not bother Sina at least?
The metaphysical implications are extensive, and Sina even mentioned them, aware of being mentioned by others, thanks to the votes I alerted him to. This creates new spaces where one can set up soda stands. If God counts every single hair on your head and hundreds of female (Renaissance and up) artists are only now being discovered (muffled away as improper at the time), none of this will go to waste. Caring and sharing: love never does. It dissolves like salt and before you know it you have a new ocean. Not a good idea for our planet, but the head is like the moon (in esoteric science), so I am always trying to find new ways to fill up that Sea of Tranquility.

We can only make these comments sink if we upvote the ones below. Should anyone want the comments removed they can be, but only the ones that wrote them can do that. (reply edit delete)

My opponent

Maybe you are speaking in metaphors...

Well spotted. You have a very sharp eye. Your photographs show it, your extremely well edited texts show this. But this is next level!
But don't forget to add chess to opponent in this context!
Wonder how your chess game is.

Isn't "chess" a metaphor? am I already in the game?

I rather watch your moves carefully for a while, before engaging in this mysterious game of yours. lol

You should try this route, no tree to crash into. lol

The trees where I ride are big enough to stop a Truck, but I have experience with the dessert also. At this stage in life I won't challenge the dessert anymore, so I hope to see more of your explorations.

Interesting that in this virtual world we (or maybe just I) think others are like us, till we find out they aren't, so you should be older than what I thought at first.

But anyway, one should like to be challenged by a dessert, specially when riding in a desert. (sometimes a simple "s" makes a big difference.)

Ik kan het ook in het Nederlands opschrijven, maar ja, daar heb je weinig aan. Woestijn.

Maybe you worry about technicalities too much, suffice it to be able to communicate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91