A mural in the making

in #photocircle5 years ago

A mural in the making

Worth scrolling down to see the final shot

Last week I noticed the start of a mural on 45th Street near 1st Ave, and thought it would be a good chance to track the progress of mural and see how it is done.

The mural should be completed tomorrow I think as there is a walk around the 5 Murals in this project at 1PM tomorrow that work permitting I hope to join.
And yes I did mention 5 Murals I found out this afternoon this is one of five murals in collaboration with the ILO which is celebrating its 100th Year this year and Streetart for Mankind

This mural was not quite finished when I saw it at lunchtime today and got my last shot, but with the walk around the art tomorrow I am guessing it will be by then, and I wanted to share this tonight, the other pieces are all cool as well and I will share shots of them as well in the future

Now onto the mural, here it is when I first saw it last Thursday

1 a mural in the making.jpg

Sony A7iii 61mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger


And on Friday Morning

1 a mural in the making-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 40mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



and this is how they get up to do the mural on Cherry Pickers, at least thats what I call them

what do you call these machines?

1 a mural in the making-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 205mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


Here we see the mural today and the artist at work up on the cherry picker

1 a mural in the making-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 48mm F4.5 1/200 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And a shot showing the detail on the face, the colors of her hairband match the color sof the Ugandan flag which fits its location on the side of the Ugandan House building

1 a mural in the making-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 122mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And as I said above I will get shots of all the murals in this collection and share those as well, its nice to see some new art coming up in Midtown East, and I did get shots of the other one's today but will get shots of them all without the cherry Pickers in the way.

#3 this post is unusual for me its not often I take shots and share them on the same day,


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.751959 lat -73.971349 long 45th Street and 1st Ave NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Yep, Cherry Pickers is what I have always referred to those machines as, pretty maneuverable. I find it hard to see how anyone can paint something so huge. They look so small up there, maybe not as small as ants, but still amazing how they can do such large painting.

that is what always intrigued me how they do such huge murals and manage ot maintain a sense of scale as they do

and good to know you also call them Cherry Pickers :)

Oh wow, that is pretty awesome. We have a machine similar to that for our gym. It doesn't go that high though. I hate the thing because even though it is stable the cage you stand in still swings around when you are fully extended. It scares the crap out of me.

Those things can be scary especially when windy I have used them a few times over the years and I would again if the choose was ride a roller coaster or go up in on of these LOL

Looking absolutely amazing it's so huge and like you said amazing how they keep the sense of scale been so big and so close to the wall painting it. Great shots my friend looking forward to see the completely finished product :)

How they can do these and get things to scale is pretty amazing I will be swinging by this one and the others this morning to see if they are done
Cheers

Cheers... will be looking forward to your updates :)

I walked past the now looks like they are doing the finishes touches

Good one should be seeing a post on it maybe today :)

Probably not today Wednesday walk keeps my busy, and also as of this morning two of them, no make that three the artists are still working on them

Well i think we are sure to see it on your next walk :)

I swung by them this morning have finished shots of three f them but two are still not finished

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks Kindly I always appreciate your support ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 452 (04/09/19)

What does ILO means ?
Gorgeous murals. Red and blue is always very eye catching contratsing colors.

International Labour Organization One of the oldest bodies of the UN Infact they were around before the United Nations was formed, some of the other murals are pretty cool as well, Ihope o share shoots of them soon

Yes, cherry pickers for me as well. I am also always impressed with keeping scale and perspective on such large scale pieces @tattoodjay I figure they must have it on a grid on paper for reference and then they can make it larger, much as you do from a small sketch or other refrence piece onto a larger canvas.

In the future there will be machines, almost like 3d printers, that will slide down the building depositing paint as it goes laying out a mural in one swoop, like a giant printer.

NOt being artistic at all and cannot even draw a straightener well I really do not know much about art, but I guess many do just s you say draw a sketch or plan with a grid and use that to guide them i Think your right about the 3D machines to print murals, but I kind of do not look forward to that too be honest seeing the artist at work makes the murals more impressive to me

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-mural-in-the-making


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I always wonder how these are made. I use to think some boys would use to do that....but now I can say it is an art work of some great hands and mind....so colourful and attractive

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to wonder the same so I was glad that in the last week I have seen the artists working on a few Murals their creativity and skill amazes me

Hmm .too much effort to make a beautiful views

Posted using Partiko Android

Two or three of the murals are still being worked on I will share photos of the others when they are finished

Very glad I scrolled on down to the end. I did not see at first where they were going with the piece. The finished product is amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94