Tudor city small details

in #photocircle5 years ago

Tudor city small details

For last weeks Wednesday walk I shared a few shots in the parks in Tudor City, and I had a few other shots I thought i would share in this post.

1 Tudor City Green bits and pieces-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 44mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


This is a memorial stone and plaque in the park greens honoring John Ferguson McKean who was the founder and president of the Tudor City association from 1973-1993, who the plaque says fought tirelessly to save the Tudor City parks from development.

I do love these little parks and so I to thanks him for saving these parks and not letting them be taken over and used for new buildings.

1 Tudor City Green bits and pieces-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 32mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Now going from old to new this is a relatively new piece in the park, but I could not find any information about it.
One a side note @janton ondered hwo many parks there are in NYC and across all 5 boroughts there are 1700 parks and playgrounds, I knew there was a lot but I did not think it was that many.

1 Tudor City Green bits and pieces-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 33mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


If you happen to be in the park and want to sit and read a book on a nice day, and just happened to have forgotten to bring a book with you, they do have this little community library, where you can drop off or take a book


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.749350 lat -73.970436 long Tudor City NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Good that there are still parks like these in NY. You don't want to to become a complete concrete jungle :P

The little community library is an interesting concept. Does it ever get vandalized?

Yes I think these little larks break up the concrete jungle here and help me keep what little is left of my sanity

I have seen a few of these little libraries and they seem to be left alone by vandals thanksfully

I love these urban help yourself libraries! In here too, we have quite a few! It is so exciting to see them in different parts of the world as a reminder that people are still reading ... ;0)

I am always pleased when I see one, when you see so many on their mobile devices it makes one wonder if anyone still reads books, but when you see these libraries it is reassuring that clearly some do

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks Kindly as always your support is appreciated

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Capturing The Light Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Bewdiful pics. Ta

Posted using Partiko Android

Thamks Dawg :)

Love the little library. One of my neighbors put one of these up in their front yard.

That’s so cool your neighbor did one

That is a lot of parks! My town is known as Wisconsin's Park Place. There are 64 parks, and they cover 2,500 Acres, so there is plenty of green space!

Sounds a cool town to live in a lot of the parks here are verily small

Looks like a very nice park to take a walk in or just relax on the bench and read a book.
The little library is very cool. Love the idea.

I to love be the idea of these little lending libraries it’s good to make us know some people still read books and aren’t totally addicted to their mobile devices

I had no idea they had that many parks! What sweet little pieces of green they are, aren't they? I do love the little community libraries they have. Those were the best thing ever invented!

It is so nice that so many of the big cities have taken the time to include the green spaces that make them more palatable to live in and grow up in. Nice post and keep on steemin these awesome places!

!tip

Yes even though I say I hate the concrete jungle that is NYC these little parks are a great thing here
I knew there was a lot of them but I would never have guessed there was that many

In this day and age where so many are seemingly glued to their mobile devices it’s n ce to see these little libraries

Have a great day

Isn't that the truth? I like having the convenience of the phone but, it does take away so much conversation in a waiting room and other places where people used to chat.

Oh, I am so badddd~ I start up a conversation anyway and it seems like people are very happy to be in a conversation and are just used to having their face in their device!

I hope you have a most wonderful evening!

I am a gadget geek so I do love all we can do on phones, but I try to not let them control me, and I also make a point of never getting it out during meals with people or when I am walking but of course I do have the apple watch as well so I can subtly see what messages and notifications come in with just a glance at my watch LOL,
is that bad LOL

I am bad at starting conversations and conversations in general, Lulu and Jeanne love long chats Mark and I are so like each other we like short and to the point conversations and to move on

Oh, I think it is a man thing!! LOL

You are not bad at starting conversations or carrying them, case in point. I could talk all night to you. Of course, you would get tired of me and shut me off, but, you could hold your own.

And yes, peeking at your phone is cheating.

Sort of. LOL

Not my phone I meant to say my watch and yes I know its cheating,, but only if you get caught :)

Once i know someone and am more comfortable with them I can chat a little more but I still tend to be short and to the point, except after a few beers but I do not drink anymore so thats not an issue

I usually will enter a room and drift and say very little, assessing the situation and the people. I like to know what/how to deal with the conversation.

OMG... I have been around the block too many times I think.

Another thing I have in common on the sidelines not talking much but observing and listening I bet I know more about the people and discussion going on in the room than the others in the room talking away

I must have been round the block too many times also

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 35500 replies. Your next target is to reach 36000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99