Sort:  

I'm having a difficult time of it honestly

I moved to the States from Germany when I was 22 - so, far away from my family. Now, all my kids are within 5 minutes and I can't even imagine how my poor mother must have felt.
It was a hard year for her. After being a housewife and mom to 5 kids - in the same year, my dad passed away, my little brother (the last child at home) left for college and I moved to the States. My sister had already lived in Italy for a while and my other 2 brothers lived several hours away.
Then, I couldn't really quite see how hard that must have been - now, I understand much better.

I hope you can visit often!! Or move?

And FYI - if a comment or post has less than $ 0.03 on it - it will get rounded down to zero. A wasted vote....
I didn't know that until recently and tested it out. Has to be at least 0.03 to count...

I've never heard of that before! I see tons of people upvoting comments by 0.01 or 0.02 - where does the money go if it's just rounded down... very odd

Back to the reward pool - not to you or the person you voted for. I read it in a post by @thedarkhorse. Then I tried it and a friend of mine tried it as well. I did one for 0.02 close to 0.01 and one close to 0.03 and neither paid out...

Now, I am on a mission to tell people. I wasted a lot of my votes....

I sure appreciate the info, I had no idea! I have low SP and have not voted on many comments. I reserve what little voting power I have for voting on posts.

Best policy for sure. when I first came on the platform, I was told to vote on comments as a way to be seen with little voting power. And I did that. I have wasted so many votes and potential curation rewards - I don't even want to think about it!!!
Oh well, now we know...

I had no idea! That is good to know. Have you done a post about that, @mariannewest ?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thedarkhorse/your-2-cent-vote-is-worthless-the-real-deal-on-dust-votes

The vote is just rounded to 0 and not counted. The same as voting on a post that is over 7 days old. By doing this all the votes that counted benefit as total votes are decreased for the day by the dust off and those who are getting a payout benefit by fractions of a penny.

Great info, I read your post and others you linked to. Thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91