Night Road

in #photofeed6 years ago

The bulb setting is something that I've felt in love with recently. While in Cripple Creek, both nights we were there the moon was out and the stars were mostly hiding. I was disappointed that I wouldn't be able to get any Milky Way shots while we were there, but I wanted to make the most out of my time there. After everyone else went to bed, I traveled to a lookout and took a lot of long exposure shots. This one was 301 seconds (5 minutes). There were a lot of trees hiding the majority of the view below, so I knew I needed something to pop down there to make a decent photo. Thankfully, there were a few cars travelling around at this hour, and I was able to get some nice light trails to brighten up the center.

IMG_9635.jpg

Settings301 sec, ISO-100, f11
CameraCanon 6d
LensCanon 50mm f/1.4
LocationCripple Creek, Colorado
Sort:  

Bulb is the best. You don't even need to be accurate. anywhere between 270-330sec would probably give you the same shot. (30sec is only 1/10th an exposure difference at that time)

That's true, I hadn't really thought about that necessarily. But yeah it's a blast waiting and waiting for the final product and seeing what happened

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T18:45:12
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 664.32/800.00
Total Photos: 88
Total comments: 54
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice! I don't think I've ever used bulb, but this is cool. Did you use a remote trigger or something?

No, I used Magic Lantern to set the time I wanted. And then went in the car since it was freeeezing cold and waited.

Oh nice! I didn't know ML could do that, very handy.

Yeah dude! It's the best thing since sliced pepperoni cheese

Nothing better than that pep cheese!

Interesting shot @aweber. I would never have guessed that that was five minutes! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75