Storm Chasing, Blue Mountains 18th of Feb 2020

in #photofeed4 years ago (edited)

So I've been absent from Steemit for a bit as I've been doing Uni this last year and don't have as much time to keep up with my social postings, so I'll be catching up on some of my recent works over the coming weeks, starting with a few from recent weeks.

These next couple of images are from a storm that passed through the Blue Mountains, where I am staying at the moment, a few nights ago.

It was the biggest storm I've experienced here and I've chased a lot of them in the Blue Mountains!

20200218_Epic_Blueys_Storm_3201_V2.jpg

Finally! This has been a dream shot of mine and I can't count the amount of times I have stood down at Govetts Leap lookout usually in the rain getting soaked hoping for that one epic CG(Cloud to Ground) strike and last night it finally happened!!!!!!!
I did get soaked from head to toe but it was well worth it plus I got a bunch of other great photos at Mt Vic as the storm was approaching! Woooohooo!!!

Canon 5D MkIV - Rokinon 14mm
Settings> f/11 104secs ISO400

20200218_Epic_Blueys_Storm_3185.jpg

This photo is looking out towards Hartley from Mt Victoria on Tuesday night as the storm approached.
This was only a 38sec exposure well after sunset to give you a bit of an idea of how bright all this lightning was and how much lightning there was!
Not long after this it started to rain and with a few strikes landing behind us and directly to our left and right we decided it was probably time to leave our exposed little spot on the cliffs edge and head for cover!

Canon 5D MkIV - Rokinon 14mm
Settings> f/11 38secs ISO400

Sort:  
Congratulations! Your picture received a 100% Upvote!

 
📸 Make sure to give us a follow on @photofeed & Twitter 📸

Astounding captures @benfenson!! Congratulations on the
different spotlights on photofeed and photocircle! :-)
I voted right when I seen your post in my feed!
Must of been exhilarating to of been there!!

Thank you @Shasta yeah it was super exciting/frightening :)

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Thanks for sharing my work @art-venture followed and upvoted!

Some epic shots there mate ;-)

Thanks mate :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55