I have some big news to share...

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

DSC_4508.jpg

In my career as a photographer I've had to make some hard choices...

This is by far the most difficult, and I've struggled with it over the last few months. For more than six years I've been dedicating my life to landscape photography, creating photos like the ones below, but the truth is that while landscape photography is personally rewarding and my photos have been enjoyed by many people, it just isn't a viable way of making money. I'm tired of scratching for a living. As much as it pains me to say it, I'm at a point in my life where I need to prioritize my long-term potential and build up a nest egg for the future: I've decided to focus all of my efforts towards a genre of photography that will almost guarantee a good living.

These kind of photos do not make money:

DSC_6109-Edit.jpg

Mountain


Heeding the crow of the cockerel

It's a new dawn for chicken photography, which has been rising rapidly in popularity over the last year or two and is now one of the hottest genres in the art world. Famous portrait photographers like Annie Leibovitz (that's her photo to the right) have begun photographing chickens instead of just people, because ultimately that's where the money is. Magazines like Vanity Fair no longer feature people exclusively - they're listening to the demands of the public and are starting to showcase Ameraucana and Rhode Island Red hens instead. Camera brands like Nikon and Canon have been pushing their high-ISO capabilities to keep up with the needs of poultry photographers around the world whose livelihoods depends on using fast shutter speeds to create high resolution prints to cover the farmhouse walls of their clients.

Yes, it's a hard market to crack into, and the pecking order is already being established, but it's better to get in late than never, because chicken photography is here to stay. People have domesticated chickens from as far back as we can remember, and chickens have putting omelets on our tables for thousands of years, but it's only recently that we started to appreciate the true beauty of the chicken.

DSC_3569.jpg

DSC_3398.jpg

The idea of getting into this full-time was hatched last year when I was lucky enough to be able to practice chicken photography at my sister's farm, and I've been sitting on it ever since. One feather in my cap already was the publishing of a 2018 Chicken Calendar that featured twelve of my own photos. It's this early success that convinced me I had what it takes to go full-time and compete against some of the biggest names in the industry. You never know when a new opportunity will crop up, and you have to be prepared to take it.

DSC_9959.jpg

The truth is, I was feeling all cooped up with landscape photography. With landscapes, you're limited to the natural world around you, and there's precious little of that left on the earth. With chickens, a whole new world of opportunities presents itself! They have a remarkable range of expression, and half the fun is working with them to reveal the inner chicken inside. It's a beautiful thing when they finally relax and can just be themselves in front of the camera. It's moments like this one that make chicken photography so rewarding: emotionally as well as financially:

DSC_3494.jpg

Why did the chicken cross the road?

To see who made the cover of the latest Poultry magazine as Sexiest Rooster Alive. Hens everywhere are flocking to the newstands to comb through them for photos like this:

DSC_3563.jpg
Major Fowler giving me that broody look that the chicks dig.

Ruling the Roost

It's going to be a tough road with so much competition, but I feel that if I put the same energy and dedication into this as I did with landscapes, in the next five years I could be among the top thousand chicken photographers in my province, and be perched for success with a six-figure salary. Hey, it's always good to aim for the golden egg, right?

DSC_3319-2.jpg

DSC_9555.jpg

While I plan to concentrate on environmental poultry portraiture to begin, I don't want to put all my eggs in one basket - I may branch out into doing chick and senior portraits, and while right now I'm not comfortable with shooting maternity and newly hatched portraits, who knows what the future holds? If it pays well enough, I will consider anything.

DSC_3545.jpg

DSC_4361.jpg


DSC_3221.jpg

Time to get cracking

This will be my first month full-time photographing on the farm. Wish me luck as I set off on this new adventure. To those of you who will be disappointed that I will no longer have time for landscape photography... well, I'm sorry, but we all have to make a living the best way we can, and I think I've finally found my calling, and the sound of that call is cockadoodledoo!!!

Thank you to everyone for reading this and for supporting me on my new adventure!


Sort:  

Resteemed just for the awesome chicken puns.

Had to read to the end to see if you were being serious or not.

Hopefully it doesn't have to be completely one or the other and you can still spare a few moments to capture natural landscapes in all their glory.

Good luck with your journey!
@kabir88

Hahaha, thank you! I'm a little shell-shocked at the response!

Thanks for the resteem. :D I hope I cleared things up for you at the end. I'll still try to photograph landscapes when I travel to do chicken photography for international clients. ;)

I just love the variety and diversity of what us human beings get up to. It's this that makes the world a wonderful and interesting place

Very true! I can't even think up anything funny to say in response to that. :D

Haha, no worries, your post was interesting enough :)

Wow, that is a tough step, I have always been fascinated by chicken photography and am excited to edit your chicken photos in #fixitfriday!
I am thinking about getting into unicorn photography as it seems to be growing in popularity lately, but chicken photography sounds like a great alternative, although I am concerned that it might be difficult to find chickens when all their eggs get eaten at Easter. By the way, nobody has so far been able to answer me the question what was there first, #chickenphotography or #eggphotography, maybe you know the answer?
Happy Easter!

Yes, it's very tough. Very tough indeed. Thank you for understanding!

Unicorn photography is also very lucrative, but it's about as difficult to get into as becoming a Nat Geo photographer. Not nearly as many unicorns as chickens, you know, even considering the Easter thing.

I was going to answer that question in my post, but I just didn't have time to address it properly.

Happy Easter to you too. ;)

Oh, I didn't know it is so hard to find unicorns in the US! I live in the Black Forest region in Germany and as soon as you enter the forest here, there are so many unicorns that I hardly even notice them anymore! People are feeding them leftover rainbows so that's why they are not shy at all.

Oh really? Well, you're definitely spoiled, because around here you have to look pretty carefully if you want to find them. (thanks, @vmoldo)

They're shy, and there are attempts to keep them wild and not dependant on humans. All those "Do Not Feed Rainbows To The Unicorns" signs have their effect.

Wow, I guess I am lucky then! Having this competitive advantage I should really get more into unicorn photography.
I didn't even know that unicorns could be this hard to find! The unicorns we have in Europe are really easy to find since they glow after they had rainbows to eat, it looks a bit like this.
In Cuba, they have even managed to domesticate unicorns and they are being used in public transport now!

01-jpp-20151226.jpg

Wow, unicorns don't hold up well under domestication, judging by that picture!!!

You should definitely take more unicorn portraits. There's a severe shortage of good unicorn photos online!

My concern is that it seems like would be pretty difficult to get a foot in the unicorn photography business since there are already many established photographers in the game! http://www.unicorns.photography/

I didn't realize so many photographers were already doing it. Maybe you could bring a unique style to the genre?

Interesting to read ... thanks for sharing 😊

Hahaha, I'm glad you found it interesting. Thanks, @manshar! :D

Oh man, this is great... I cannot imagine how much fun there will be in the next #fixitfriday :D

Maybe fewer unicorns... ;)

hahaha can't stop laughing. It is true, however that landscape photography is hard to live off... nice humor!

Yes, that part is true, hahaha! Thanks for stopping by! :D

I could be among the top thousand chicken photographers in my province, and be perched for success with a six-figure salary

Although I am hoping to see some great shots i must caution you: Don't count chikens before they hatch! 😁

Great advice, and you're right, I shouldn't be too confident until I have something to crow about!

This is the best cluckin' thing I've ever read!

Hahaha! Thanks for resteeming it! ;)

I go away for a few weeks and I come back and I find everything in a mess and upside down!! You had me going... and chicken photography... is that even a thing???

Great humor! Wish you luck and success

Haha, thank you. ;)

I really thought that it was only in the netherlands that people try to fool each other. But this is really a great one ...

You definitely do not have exclusivity of April Fools. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73