The Murky Wood

in #photofeed6 years ago

One afternoon a few years ago I drove through Silver Falls State Park, Oregon, and while I didn't have time to do any hiking, I was able to stop in a couple of places to take some photos. A little late-day mist rolled in and produced a wonderful atmosphere in the wood. It's easy to believe in the unbelievable when you're befogged in a forest like this!

Which fairy tale or fantasy story does this photo make you think of?

treefog.jpg

I admit it, I'm addicted to atmosphere. I don't know if there's a cure!

Sort:  

Visually I would love this to be the decor of 'red riding hood', I mean, a little red girl running in these woods would create an amazing photo op, right?

Yes - perfect color contrast! :D

I'm addicted to atmosphere too, love this shot so much! I think it reminds me of Little Red Riding Hood too!

Good thing the Big Bad Wolf didn't eat me!

Creepy but beautiful :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 12:33:40
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 846.41/1600.00
Total Photos: 51
Total comments: 145
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It is a pretty atmospheric photo indeed.

Somehow you would not be surprised if gnomes and elves appeared in your picture. It is a beautiful mystical picture.

Maybe if I'd waited longer I would have seen them...

Or maybe they were there and we could not see them :)) In any case, a cool photo.

Very moody, atmospheric shot. Scenery from Lord of the Rings :).

Yes! I'm not sure which location though...maybe the forest of the Druadan...

Something like that, definitely not the best place to be for a human ;)

It doesn't make think of a fairy tale or fantasy story but it makes me want to have one!! : ) And I'd love to learn how to edit like that... oh my goodness!!!! : O

So now I can get past that... hmmm, maybe The Lion, The Witch & the Wardrobe or a bit of Once Upon a Time...

It reminds me of Prince Caspian, but more a general feeling than an actual place in the book...

Oh I was going to say Narnia too... but there is a lot of snow in those too... but I did think of that one too!

Well, you were the one who said The Lion, The Witch & the Wardrobe. ;)

Haha, good answer!

Yes but I'm serious!! :D

Oh, about the editing? Well, I don't remember what I did to edit this, but it looks like mostly a white balance adjustment to make it cooler, dropping the exposure to make it moodier, and adding a "glow," with a subtle Gaussian blur in Photoshop.

Oh my... I have no idea what you're saying... but I'll file that for a later date perhaps! ; ) Something to work on! : ) On average, how long can you spend editing one image?

Averaging about an hour, lately. Between half an hour and two hours? I do a lot of images that use bracketed exposures, and panoramas, and stuff like that.

Oh wow, okay... I thought you might spend a bit of time. And that's with someone who knows what he's doing!! ; )

Nah, I know how to do stuff, but I definitely don't know what I'm going to do beforehand - that's why it takes so long, I try a lot of things. :)

Mirkwood fo sho. This place looks sweet!

Is it Mirky enough, I wonder? I didn't see any giant spiders...

mmmm, like the murky, foggy atmosphere. and also like the name, Silver Falls State Park. :)

Yes, it's a magical-sounding place! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66