Journey Toward Enlightenment: Buddhist Monks Pilgrimage in America

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

A few years ago I got invited to a Buddhist temple to help documented a group of Buddhist monk's pilgrimage through the city called Azusa in California. It was very captivating seeing the surprised looks on people's faces while the monks were making their spiritual journey across town. I hope this story, photographs and videos that I've captured will provide everyone with a better understanding of what this extraordinary special Buddhist tradition is all about.




What Is Buddhist Pilgrimage And Its Purpose?


To put it in simple terms, Buddhist pilgrimage is a spiritual journey typically to holy places, temple, or various historical destinations. The main reason why Buddhist monks will venture on a pilgrimage is that of the Buddha himself.

From the earliest Buddhist reference to pilgrimage, the Buddha expressed to his main caretaker and disciple monk Ananda before passing away that in order to preserve the faith and belief in Buddhism, he advises Ananda to inform all the pilgrims to visit four specific places associated with the Buddha. The Buddha's birthplace, awakening, teachings, and passing. The Buddha also advises everyone to continue their practice diligently as if he was still living among them.

"Being inspired, wanting to pay homage and established a deeper connection with the legacy of the Buddha. Also, the possibility of awakening, accumulating merits or virtues those are some of the main reasons why many generations of Buddhist pilgrims still continued on with this practice even until today."




Let The Journey Begins


Now that you have a bit of knowledge about Buddhist Monk's pilgrimage, let me show you a few pictures that I've captured on that special day.














Final Thoughts


I've actually ordained as a #Buddhist #monk at that temple a few times and experienced first hand what it's like to go on a pilgrimage just like the monks in this story. It wasn't just a typical walk around town. For myself, getting to experience what it's like to actually be wearing the sacred yellow ropes just like the #Buddha and becoming part of the monastic community while going on a pilgrimage, meditating, chanting sutras and shared every good blessing that I had to the laypeople was really once in a lifetime true happiness moments that I will never forget. I hope that I get another chance to become a Buddhist monk again in the near future.

THE END.

PS: I also made a music video of this pilgrimage and uploaded it on DTube.
dtube-logo


THANK YOU! 🙏Steemians for visiting my post and hope that you guys enjoyed it! #photofeed #originalworks

If you want to know more about who I am and what I am about.

Please visit my introducemyself post

intro-thumbnail-png

Cats Series #1: Butter Cat

Cats Series #2: Sungazing Kitty

Portrait Series # 1: Beautiful Helen

HDR Series # 1: HDR Vroom Vroom

HDR Series # 2: I can be here all day

Please feel free to follow, upvote, resteem and comment if you enjoyed my post. Let's be friends!

Thanks again Steemians!

Sort:  

Great shots! Love the color of the monks combined with the mountains in the first one.

Congrats on being featured by @photofeed!

Thank you so much @photofeed its an honor to be featured with you guys! Yes the first one is my favorite also! Thanks again!😄

So beautifuly captured <3
Thank you very much for sharing!

Thank you glad you enjoyed it

Nice to see that in America.

I feel the same way 😀

You got a 3.62% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @eddieboo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62