Capsules

in #photofeed6 years ago


Capsules


DSC01148-Edit.jpg


This last week has been a lot of travelling between Osaka and Tokyo for several different shoots, I literally got back just a couple of hours ago. Yesterday I was shooting at the soon to be opened capsule hotel "The Millennials" in Shibuya. It was a great day with a lot of really good models.

This is a rough edit that I was really happy with from yesterday (there's still a lot of work to be done with it). This is a composite of 5 images shot separately and then stitched together in photoshop, I edited this on my laptop last night in my hotel room which was struggling to process the 5 Sony a7r3 files, so i'm looking forward to sitting down and editing this properly over the next few days.

This edit was 5 single shots, but I actually shot each scene bracketed for extra highlight and shadow detail which i'll use in the final edit to smooth it out a bit more. But my old Macbook pro was struggling with 5 images let alone 15.

If ever you're travelling to Tokyo I can honestly recommend the hotel to stay in. Usually i'm not a huge fan of capsule hotels but this places is really cool. Each pod comes with a reclining bed thats controlled via the ipod touch, and some of the pods even come with their own projectors.


Category Portrait
Settings1/40 F1.6 ISO640
CameraSony a7R3
LensSigma 35mm F1.4 Art
LocationTokyo, Japan

*Disclaimer- I am a full time stock photographer for Getty Images/ iStock. So if you reverse image search yes that will show up in the results, but i have verified (On multiple occasions with @steemcleaners) that i am the owner of these photos.


Instagram: @Jgalione
https://www.shotandcapturedby.com
https://www.gettyimages.co.uk/photos/jgalione

Sort:  

Nice shot. I'm still yet to stay in a capsule hotel but would really like to. I have the image of them being really uncomfortable and noisy, but I think it's the opposite, especially in Japan where people tend to respect each other more. Thanks for sharing.

I stayed in a really cheap one in Okinawa, and it’s just like as you described. Noisy, claustrophobic, people would come in and out at all hours of the night and you could hear people snoring. So that really put me off staying there again. But having been to this one yesterday it’s completely opposite of my initial experience. I’ll stay at this one next time I’m in Tokyo.

This time I didn’t stay there as I was just there to do photos for them, but it would’ve been a 3rd of the price of the hotel I did stay in and a lot cooler.

This post has received a 10.47 % upvote from @boomerang.

Whoa this is awesome! Even if it isn't in its "final form"

Resteemed!

Thanks @photofeed, I’m really glad that you liked it. :)

Nice click.. still wondering how you managed to get this shot!

Thanks @sanskrit, this was 5 photos that I stitched together in photoshop. :)

Great work.. looks like a single picture

Question, do you have a DSLR? Or you are just using an A7 for travel? Great shots.

@foovler I also have canons, but they very rarely leave my house now. I use them for time lapses and will continue to do so until their shutters burn out, then i’ll Just continue shooting with my Sony’s. I have the a7r2 and a7r3, and I invested in the GMaster lenses and battery grips, So it ends up just as heavy as a regular dslr, so it doesn’t really save any weight whilst traveling. I bought them for their large image, high dynamic range and 4K video. I used to have to carry my black magic camera with me for video along with it’s accessories so that was really heavy, so it doesn’t save me some weight with that.

I think my next purchases are mirrorless. I'm a minimalist and not a professional so I think I will save extra weight if I don't buy massive lenses and just stick to primes. I know my friend had an A7r and put huge lens on it and just looks unproportionate. As you mentioned, it worked out to be as heavy as a DSLR. Can't wait to see more of your work. Cheers.

A friend of mine is a travel photographer and he has an a7r2 with a couple of primes and it's really light when it's stripped down. It's a really versatile camera.

When i put the big lenses on it it actually becomes too front heavy, so i end up using the battery grip to balance it out a bit. But for me it was more about the image i produces than the overall feel of it. I'm happy with my investments, i do miss the canon's sometimes, but i don't think i could ever switch back now.

Yeh thinking of the Sony a7r2. I think they are good for videos as well but i think battery drains real quick. Will probably buy 2 extra battery pack whenever i purchase it.

Carrying my canon 80d with a 17-50 zoom was tiring as hell. My d600 with a fifty is a little better.

I guess for pros, quality image is everything. As for me, i think comfort takes priority. When ur happy, stick to it. I started with Nikon then tried Canon, switched to Nikon coz I liked the layout more. Each to their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56