Constructive use of solitude

in #photofeed6 years ago

AthabascaGlacierIGCrop.jpg

“In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude. One must overcome the fear of being alone.” The world is quiet here; and the words of the American existential psychologist Rollo May seem to ring truer than ever. I took this shot while snowshoeing on the Athabasca Glacier in Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada

Below is a wider angle version of the same scene which hopefully gives you an idea of how big the landscape is out in the Canadian Rockies.

AthabascaGlacier.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Amazing👍

beautiful)

Hello mate my eyes got on your feed with a post that was flourishing a very beautiful picture of yours in the trending page .
I am also an aspiring photographer.U think we can be friends and help each other grow .what's say?
Follow for follow??
Below iis my work
20170108_094412-01-01-01-01-01.jpeg
And the link to my latest post
https://steemit.com/photocircle/@devasish/cuteness-in-spiders-shot-on-phone

Please no begging; it won't get you any followers. Rather is more likely to get you blacklisted with Steemcleaners.

Spam.gif

You can thank @fireawaymarmot for this classic gif!

I learnt and Am not gonna do that again

Paul Tillich says:"Loneliness expresses the pain of being alone and solitude expresses the glory of being alone." Thus, solitude is positive and meaningful. We do need that!

We do from time to time.

Wow those are beautiful. Love the mountains, snow and solitude.

Thanks. It's amazing up there.

OK i like the quote however I have a question... What does it look like to "OVERCOME" ?

_“In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude. One must overcome the fear of being alone.” _

I am alone alot... but I just have never liked it... and I gather I'm creative, In fact when I'm with others I can be even more creative. Do you think this guy was just an introvert and he just didn't understand how the minds of extroverts work?

Or maybe he was just justifying his own way of life in a self fulfilling prophecy sort of way.

In any case I am headed to Yellowstone in part just to get better at being ok with traveling alone again. I did it for so many years and I kind of wanted to stop because life is better shared... but I'm gonna give it a shot again.

Yes. Very true. I would definitely say he is an introvert (like myself). Extroverts in a lot of ways drive their creativity from the energy of other people. On the other hand interactions with society can be distracting and even stressful for introverts ; and a lot of creative introverts lived have historically solitary lives from time to time (eg locking themselves in a remote cabin until they finish their thesis/books/paintings/etc).

I still think time alone in the wilderness is useful for extroverts as well, even if the time required is shorter as it provides a clarity of mind that is hard to obtain with so much noise around you .

It's pretty big.
What if you fear creativity but like being alone?

Ha. Then your need to go out into the wilderness and take some LSD.

amazing place and nice shot

I don't know why - but I get scared looking at this image. LOL I guess it's because it looks so desolate and I'm a city slicker.

You need to get out of the city more ;-)

I'd be willing to - with a seasoned survivalist! LOL

I've always had a dream of camping out in exotic locations to get some epic shots. That is until I was in Montana and heard the scariest animal cry I've ever heard. Every animal in the area was freaking out by howling and making distressing sounds. I wouldn't be surprised if it was a bigfoot as it was really scary.

It was at that point I realized that camping in the woods may not be for me!

Sounds like you just need some earplugs !

That’s one thing photography has always brought me, a sense of adventure. Going out into nature or even on the streets, approaching people and dangerous locations to capture a great photo always brings excitement.

Amazing photo as always mate, I’m sure it was a thrill to get a chance to take it

Thanks. Appreciate the detailed comment !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66