Snow Trees

in #photofeed5 years ago

Who is looking forward to hitting the slopes this winter? Hopefully the white stuff is not too far away. Fresh powder snow dampens sound in a way that has to be experienced before you really understand it. The sense of quiet comes from the high porosity of loosely packed crystals of freshly fallen snow which trap sound waves. The shot was taken on Hudson Bay Mountain just outside of Smithers in Northern British Columbia, Canada.

SnowTreesIG.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

This photo looks like greeting card!...

I will take that as a compliment ;-)

Wow! Is there a live tree underneath that pile of snow?

The snowfall was quite heavy, it's remarkable how I cover those trees.

Thanks. It is very scenic thats for sure. Autumn is quite special however.

Woah!
Deep snow, awesome shot!
well done!

Thanks. Hopefully we get some more snow soon.

Howdy!
I've upvoted your post
it's just a small upvote, but I hope it will serve to help you and the steem community to grow ;)

Really?

Snow affects sound?

The tought of that is creepy, lol. I live in the tropics so forgive me for knowing nothing about snow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes quite dramatically; like your wearing noise cancelling headphones.

Looks pretty chilly there, too! Nice capture, there. It's been years since I've seen conifers in the winter like that. It's mostly deciduous trees here.

Its a different kettle of fish up here in northern BC

Beautiful powder and looking pretty deep. I did not know the reason for the lovely quiet of fresh fallen snow. Great stuff for #sciencefriday :)

I pareidoilied (I don't think that word is meant to be verbed but anyway XD) the thumbnail and saw a bunch of people in white cloaks despite knowing they're snow covered trees XD It's a great shot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17