Lava Rock Monolith

in #photofeed6 years ago

It was perfect timing while driving south on HWY 666 in Northern New Mexico USA. The setting sun lit up this beautiful rock formation as my son and I were passing by. With no time to waste we quickly found a place to pull off and park. We hurried to a nearby suitable shooting location and were able to setup and get off a couple shots. It was a thrilling experience!

lava rock 7x8.jpg

This formation is called a volcanic throat and was the supply tube for a volcano. 30 million years ago when this eruption was active this area was about 3000 feet under ground. A lot of earth has been displaced to expose this marvelous view. It's just a matter of time!

Sort:  

In this light the rock looks like a naked valve of the huge heart! Bloody gold..

You have a good imagination, also the connecting network of volcanic feeder tubes and dykes are like arteries. Thanks for your view.

See tomorrows post.

Very touching reading your way to get this incredible photo moment, sir. Thanks!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for great compliment!

See tomorrows post.

Beautiful picture. Thanks.

Your welcome, thank you!

See tomorrows post.

You are a great person to me. I appreciate you. Your work is outstanding. Thanks @irvinesimages

Thank you! I could give you an award for the best compliment. LOL...Thanks again!

See tomorrows post.

While time does indeed changes the scenarios !

Marvelous shot buddy !

Yes indeed as we wait for the perfect scenario to arrive in calm readiness. And then capture the prey. Thanks my friend!

That goes without saying buddy !

Great photo and I really liked the brief review of the history of the volcanic throat , the view from afar is fabulous, I had not seen it from that point.

Thank you Liznella, I'm so fascinated by the amazing geologic history that's all around me. I live in a special place with gratitude.

see tomorrows post.

Wow! Narration and pictures are equally thrilling. Extraordinary love to be so hasty to see beautiful objects and impatient to immediately photograph. The results are simply fantastic. Thanks for sharing. 👌

Thanks for your appreciation of the event and the nice compliments. I have many such stories. I also have missed many epic shots by mere seconds.

See tomorrows post.

It is a formation that looks more impressive with the help conveniently with the plain.

I agree, it's very special now that everything else around it has been washed away over time. It looks so out of place. I think that just seeing it standing there by itself in this fashion creates some mystery. but its beautiful!

See tomorrows post.

I love your photos, you always try to take them at the right time and you get a beautiful picture. I imagine running with your son to get the picture XD

You feel the richness and positive energy of the experience. Thanks!

see tomorrows post

Hi there, another simple yet beautiful post. You are passionate for rocks, aren't you? Your land looks fascinating, will love seeing more

Hello and thanks, I'm passionate about all the photos I take, some more than others. So to me its no passion -no picture. The land here is very fascinating and I have many many more photos.

That's wonderful. Passion is necessary for any art, I agree. Keep uploading more nd more of your nature collection I'll be a regular viewer from here on .

Being passionate about photography I might follow your idea of capturing nature and displaying it to everyone here too

Sounds good, its great to do what brings you joy!

Exactly, Thank you for sharing this idea and spreading joy ✅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59445.54
ETH 2993.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74