Lightning Caused Forest Fires In Sedona Arizona

in #photofeed6 years ago

While out photographing thunderstorm cloud formation I noticed a forest fire up in the high country north of Sedona Arizona USA. So I hung around for a while and decided to photograph the smoke interacting with the red rock canyons.

IMG_0029 cloudmazing 7x9.jpg

Early evening sunlight found its way into and around the area creating some beautiful and colorful effects.

boynton fire 7x9.jpg

I later discovered that this was actually two fires about two miles apart. The Rhino and Platypus fires were lightning caused and started about a week earlier.

boynton fire-2 7x9.jpg

The beneficial side of lightning caused forest fires is that the process of burn and new growth rejuvenation is a very forest healthy natural cycle.

boynton fire-3 7x9.jpg

These fires are burning in the Coconino National Forest and are only about eight miles north of town but because of the remoteness, dangerous rugged terrain and lack of danger to humans the US Forest Service is letting them burn to aid in forest rejuvenation.

IMG_0062.jpg

The smoke helps create some colorful thunderstorm cloud formation.

IMG_0069 rhino fire cloud 7x9.jpg

Four days later I went back and captured a final shot.

IMG_0076 rhino fire 7x9.jpg

And then not to my surprise the following day a large wet thunderstorm passed over that area and extinguished the fires. This completes the cycle. Fires were started and then ended by different storms. That's natures perfection!

Sort:  

Great story telling and imagery! Those are some dramatic shots, and it's always kinda sad to me cause so much life is dying, but the fires also often create very beautiful scenes in the sky with colors and smoke and such, this one was no different. Some really beautiful scenes even though so much is dying. Some really powerful and beautiful shots there, thanks for sharing!

I agree with you on the loss of life. fortunately it will come back in time. It also has a beautiful side to it. Glad to share thanks.

Sometimes, the fires are necessary for new lives.

Really i enjoy the natural beauty of Sedona Arizona. The cloudy sky , red rocks look very beautiful. I appreciate your beautiful photography.

Thanks for saying so I appreciate that.

Wow buddy they sure are amazing :)

I do got few of the images of SKY especially ;)

Will be sharing them soon ;)

Thanks guy! I want to see your images so let me know.

On the way buddy :)

Will sure lety you know :)

West side of US just can’t catch a break with fires! I’ve been to Sedona and it’s such an incredible place to sight see.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes it's a seriously bad and trending problem. Mostly a buildup of forest floor fuels. Thanks for the comment!

what a such wonderful photography.
Dear @irvinesimages ..
I like like your photography.
Thank you so much for sharing with us .

I enjoy the sharing, so thanks!

Even with the fires, the pictures are so amazing I want to travel from Vegas to Sedona! Way to make a positive post on the blockchain with great pictures!

I agree thank you, Its only a 5 or 6 hour drive and it could be fun!

I have been before! But wish i saw the vortex's when I was there! Sedona is really beautiful!

Interesting! ... The fourth image reminds me of the hallelujah mountains of Avatar (2009)

That's cool' everything was so beautiful in Avatar.

Nice series of photos, I love the ones with the deep blue sky. Northern California could do with a good dousing rain about now. After seeing all the fire activity and the fire activity we generally have in Alaska I am glad we keep getting wet. Plus the rain cleans the sky.

Thank you sir' I'm quite fond of the blue skies myself. That's the best natural defense against forest fires. Rain, rain, rain.

Congratulations @irvinesimages! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

awesome photography
have a nice day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01