Rattlesnake

in #photofeed5 years ago

The Sinagua Indian culture inhabited the Sedona area for around 800 years and were related to the Anasazi. These native American's were hunters and gatherers who evolved into farmers over time.

But it's notable to say they were also artist's who were able to communicate through drawings and symbolism applied to stone surfaces. This rattlesnake pictograph is from Loy canyon, along with yesterdays post. I believe the rattlesnake symbolized life as a food source and also death if bitten. This is a very common depiction and maybe served as a warning.

loy snake 7x8.jpg

The head of the snake is on the left side and is not very visible because it's goes around a curved surface. This image is from Loy Canyon northwest of Sedona Arizona USA.

Sort:  

Some cool stuff you having there

Thanks for that, I agree.

Neat snake art. The figure below in the middle sorta looks like an alien standing with a rocketship in the background! The one to the right sorta just looks like a lizard.. Maybe an alien lizard? Heh.

Looks like the figure has only one hand and I don't know what the other two things are. It makes me wonder.

Your welcome and i'm glad you find it interesting.

it's very very nice photography

Thanks Jason, I'm glad you like it as I find it fascinating to experience this glimpse into the past.

Great photo, my friend and this drawing is amazing for that ancient time! Thank you @irvinesimages

Thank you my friend, it's wonderful to see it in person. but the photos work well.

Is that a snake with 6 tails..kind of creepy

The drawing is symbolic not actual and it represents a rattlesnake which has only one tail. Maybe the tentacles represent the sound that comes from the snake shaking it's tail as a warning.

I always interested to know about ancient world. And your article and excellent photographs help us to know about it. Keep up your great work my friend.

Thanks for letting me know how much you enjoy the history. I will have more of it down the road my friend!

Great post 👍 thanks for sharing this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94