Spending time with my family in the mountains - MyPictureDay Submission

in #photofeed6 years ago

IMG_3247.jpg

Going to the mountains with my family - or on my own to mountain bike - has become a bit of a ritual. It clears my head, and makes just about every problem fade away. It's one of the few remaining places that getting a phone signal is all but impossible. Sometimes you can get one if you stand on the truck. Not to mention pulling out your phone when it's -25C is a bit chilly so it's not really worth it.

It's a good place to shut down and a good reminder that everything shouldn't revolve around the little blue screens. My wife calls it my meditation. I'm visibly a different person when I get to go. It might have something to do with the fact I grew up in the mountains...it's in my blood I guess.

IMG_3305.jpg

These shots were taken on the Spray Lakes in Kananaskis just outside of Canmore, Alberta. It's my favourite place in the mountains. Easy to get to, and fewer tourists than in the parks. Especially since they were taken on Monday, which happened to be family day in Alberta (so the parks were busy).

I think the holiday was added just to have another long weekend in the middle of our long winters - but I'm not complaining.

IMG_3298.jpg

We brought our snow shoes so we could hit some of the deeper snow. They're good fun.

All of these photos are taken with my Canon 7d, which is getting a little long in the tooth. It's a workhorse of a camera though. Rain or shine it performs.


All photos are taken by me. If you like the photo or/and story drop me an updoot or a comment!
If you want to see more make sure you follow @jfolkmann
Thanks!

Sort:  

Great photos! I cannot relate since I'm here in the Philippines and we don't have winter season to experince, BUT my kind of meditation is going to the beach and spending time walking with my love ones. Thanks for sharing! :)

The beach is rad too. I think it's just good to get outside.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 04:17:03
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 874.79/1600.00
Total Photos: 93
Total comments: 102
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice mate. -29C here yesterday so enjoying the freeze

that's cooooold. I'm glad it's almost over.

Holding to get some more snowboarding in this season so hopefully not all over too soon !

I was born in Colorado, at the feet of the Rockies, and the mountains are absolutely in my blood. I totally get you. I feel most myself when in the mountains. The ocean is a close runner-up. Also, it sucks doing anything in bare hands in -25. I can't really buckle/unbuckle my kids in their carseats with gloves on, and yesterday morning my fingers were so cold! lol. But yes, this. Just beauty, trees, quiet. Love it! :)

We often think about moving to vancouver where I can have both mountains and beach.

Woooo... Looks so cold. I don't think I would go travel abroad when there's snow.

Time in nature is always good. Which reminds me, I should go to the beach already... sigh

I dream of beaches. Especially now.

Haha, yeah it's cold there. :)

Good post as always ;)

Thanks much!

Wow, looks like my kind of place. Nice photos.

Wow great pics! Love the mountains! I miss BC, the mountains are so breathtaking to behold. And hiking them is so fun, the view from the various look offs... sighhhh
I live in NS so I am surrounded by ocean views now , but I still miss those mountains <3

Ocean views are pretty rad. It's been a long time since i've been out east. Might be time for a trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65