The beauty of Japan - for me it never gets old.

in #photofeed6 years ago

When I get the chance I'm still going through photos of our trip to Japan. It takes a while when there's thousands, and to pick out the ones I'd want to share is tough - as I don't want to bore anyone.

The golden temple - Kyoto

Whatever angle you take pictures of the Golden Temple - they always seem to turn out. Since I've already written about the beauty of the golden temple - I thought I'd write a little of its history. Did you know this version of the temple isn't as old as it looks? It was actually rebuilt in 1950. A novice monk burnt the original to the ground. He then tried to commit suicide...but failed...ended up in jail...released and then died of tuberculosis only 6 years later. I think the whole thing would make a good ghost or possession story for a book.

IMG_4197.jpg

I like the fact that the temple is right in the middle of everything. You can walk all the way around, and if you're creative -you might find an angle or two that other tourists haven't found ;)

The gardens at Himeji-jo

The gardens just outside of Himeji-jo are stunning. There's even a restaurant where you can sit and take in the views. Unfortunately we couldn't get in because it was too busy, but it makes for a pretty shot. When you think of Japanese gardens this one pretty much takes the cake. I can only imagine that each season would bring its own special variety to the plants. My kid had fun running around - and one kind grounds keeper let her feed the carp on his rounds. I think it was one of the highlights of her trip.

IMG_4555.jpg

The West Bailey at Himeji-jo

Himeji Castle is also home to an out building called the West Bailey or Nishinomaru. The building was the residence of the princess and her attendants (ladies in waiting). Long wooden hallways and small rooms are filled with historical items, pictures and maps. Actually we enjoyed this building as much as the castle - as it has more to see on the inside. Once you get inside Himeji-jo you have to use your imagination - here it feels a little more like a museum. My favourite part is the historical run through of all the emperors.

D05C8FFA-7598-4C6B-962E-4B8A5FC2B3C6.JPG

The level of detail in the woodwork is incredible in the bailey. When they say 'the don't make it like this anymore' they were talking about this place. One day when the price of steem is $1000 maybe I'll be able to build a house with the wooden finishing this place has ;)

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T13:39:27
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1492.47/1600.00
Total Photos: 174
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Japan is a beautiful place. Hoping to visit this country soon.

Gorgeous photos and back story to boot. Very nice.

I love the Garden, it fits my idea of what it should be. I'm glad your daughter got to feed the fishies. A wonderful treat.

I never grow tired of looking at your photographs. It takes me right into the Japanese culture and lifestyle.

I liked also your previous post about Japan and i like this one too, as i sad you make good shots and japan is so impressive.

Beautiful photos, I love Japan too

Beautiful photos, I love Japan too

I'm a photographer too
Please take your time to view my work 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05