The greatest backyard in the world - Canadian Rockies

in #photofeed6 years ago

I live in a pretty beautiful country. To have the Rockies in my backyard...makes my backyard the greatest backyard on earth (although I might change that opinion if I lived in Hawaii.) I've completed many of the day hikes in the surrounding parks, but there's always more to explore. Probably too much for a lifetime.

DSC00613.jpg

Stanley Glacier

We spent the day hiking to Stanley Glacier. Technically inside British Columbia, it's only about 30 minutes from Lake Louise/Banff. Easily accessible, it makes for a great family hike. There's 2 fairly long inclines, but otherwise it's fairly easy. The thing that makes any hike in the rockies difficult, other than steep terrain...is weather. There are some shallow caves to explore, an amazing rock garden, and if you're feeling up to it you can climb right up to the small glacier. My dog loves to play in the snow!

DSC00611.jpg

Being prepared

It's amazing to me how underprepared people come to hike in the rockies. We check the forecasts, pack extra (rain gear, pants, matches, water, bear spray, food etc.) just in case. I've seen it snow in august, and I never want to be caught unaware. We saw so many people climbing up in Nikes and Converse, shorts and t-shirts. Sure enough - at about 10am it started to rain. Hard. A quick switch of clothes, and we were good to go. Watching all the tourists freeze, and get soaked right through was a good reminder of why I always pack the way I do. I wish the hotels in the area would warn people...or maybe they do, and people are just stupid.

DSC00609.jpg

My pictures are all nice and bright, as this was before the storm rolled in.

I easily have the greatest backyard in the world.

This little guy thinks so too! This marmot didn't seem scared of us at all - didn't like the dog much. But kept coming out to have a look at us. Probably guarding a burrow or something.

DSC00623.jpg

Sort:  

Those mountains appear gorgeous and scary at the same time.
Last two photos (the one where you walking along the path between the pines and the one with marmot) are my favorites. 🙂

BTW - your story about people who went hiking unprepared reminded me of many similar cases in my country when mountain rescue service is alerted just because some people irresponsibly went hiking, especially in the coastal part of the country and during summer time (believe it or not) even wearing just flip flops!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-06T20:22:09
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1745.97/3200.00
Total Photos: 213
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Friend what is backyard .

Beautiful mountainscape!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

it is a pretty happening place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97