A Beautiful Day in Mykonos, GreecesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photofeed6 years ago

170403_Mykonos_Steemit.jpg

White Buildings, Blue Skies and Blue Oceans:

It's the first thing you notice when you land on the small island of Mykonos. Practically every building is white but with doors and windows that varied in color. I was lucky enough to stay on the island for just over a week. Once again work had brought me to an exotic location and I wasn't complaining.

On one of my dark days (a production day typically allocated for rest) I set out with my buddy Jeff. Funny enough, I'm realizing as I type this, I travel with Jeff quite often and always for work. Anyway, we decided to head into town and rent four-wheelers for the day. Mykonos is a small island and, to be honest, possibly just a little too big for them. Still, it was an easy and cheap way to get around the island and I'm not too big on scooters.

We went from one end of the island to the other exploring as many places as possible. We found hidden beaches and coves where locals had come to get away from the tourist crowds. There was the main town that we literally got lost in due to the narrow pathways and never ending buildings. The seafood (mussels in particular) was some of the best I've ever had. Blazing down the roads and off onto dirt paths we were able to go practically anywhere we wanted.

But the most memorable thing for me was the white buildings, blue skies and blue oceans. Well that and the mussels. It was as if the blue was both above and below you all at the same time and the white buildings served as a reminder that you were in between.

Honestly though, those mussels were freakin' delicious. Smothered in butter sauce, are you out of your mind?!?! And I would be sitting there eating them all by myself because Jeff didn't want any. I wasn't going to force them on him. More for me. They'd bring a whole bucket of 'em. Just dripping in butter and garlic. And I would eat every. Last. One. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it. And you know what? This is no digression. Yeah. I've just decided.

The entire point of this blog post: Go to Mykonos. Eat the mussels.

Sort:  

Lovely picture!

In my mind, the place where I see white buildings and houses is only in Greece.. I never thought your city also have this. Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

PS.

Please make your font a little bigger.. hahahaha its hard to read especially for those who arent wearing their glassess on bed.. 🤣😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Good call! hahaha and I appreciate the feedback.

Hahahahaha yes because you post lovely pictures.. and im still in bed and my glassess is in my bag. Im too lazy to go get it.

But really very interesting post! I love to see places even just here reading posts.. hehehe..

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem! I guess it probably looks different on different devices. I didn't even thin about the text size. But thank you! I plan on posting many more.

Ohh.. maybe because im using partiko! This has been my to go app!

Yes do post more about it. The platform needs more inspirations..

Posted using Partiko Android

Well thanks for engaging with me! I'll be sure to post more. I just put out another one this morning. Talk soon!

It was nothing.. glad to have bump into you!

Hey have you voted for steem already?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for commenting! And yes, Mykonos is in Greece, so I guess it makes sense :-)

Hahahahaha yes it makes sense a lot!!!!

You are sooooo very lucky to be there.. its one of my bucket list alright.. so envious right now..

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a very cool spot. I hope you make it there! I'm sure you'd love it.

Maybe... in 50 years! Hehe.. but I sure do want to visit there someday..

Posted using Partiko Android

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @jocqua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64