I Just Flew My Drone In A Snow Blizzard!

in #photofeed6 years ago

A few hours ago there was virtually no snow here in Stratford, Ontario. Well, that has since changed, it has been snowing all morning.

DJI_0744__.jpg

I did a quick google search to see what people are saying about flying recent DJI drones in the snow. While it's important to keep your drone as dry as possible nobody stated any bad experiences about flying in the snow. One pilot even said he has done it several times. That was enough for me, so I grabbed my drone and headed out. (the Stratford Festival Theatre is pictured above, with the Avon River below)

DJI_0752__.jpg

I drove to a location that I had in mind to shoot at, by the time I got there the snow had picked up and was coming down harder than I felt comfortable flying in. I waited a few minutes until it calmed down and then took off from the roof of my parent's car. I flew around to a few perspectives that I thought were interesting including looking down at the Avon River which was partially freezing over as seen in the image above.

DJI_0755__.jpg

The snow picked up again while I was flying my furthest. I didn't realize right at first, it just hit me a few minutes in that my entire body and remote were covered and what I was doing maybe wasn't the wisest for my lil' drone. That said I flew it back, landed, and blew the snow off before packing it up. Everything went fine! The only thing that I'd use caution about in future snow flights is that the sensors get covered in snow. It didn't affect the flight, just made for a sloppy looking landing, though that went well too.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:33:04
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 106.75/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Was that any trouble with the drone?coz it flew in the snow blew

The drone itself flew wonderfully. The reception was clear, and it stayed very stable.

I can only imagine how wonderfull the video will be ....

just wanted to say, few days ago you made and video and it looked like spring :D nice photos.

ok maybe not spring but almost :D

Yeah! The weather is very wacky at this time of year. We're all waiting for Spring, though this is the unfortunate reality around here.

it looks like you have similar climate as we. classical winter, spring, summer, fall. winters -1 to -15, summers to +38C and spring and fall are in between.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jonathansippel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67