First of the Roll | Two Jack Lake, Banff, AB | Expired 35mm Kodak 200steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

000015740001.jpg

First of the Roll

What better way to kick off the first post on my Steemit feed, than with a first of the roll photo from an expired roll of 35mm Kodak 200?

I made this photo last July in Banff National Park, when I was visiting with a few photography friends. We were scouting this location for a spot to take photos of the milky way later that night. That endeavour turned out successful, and I'll share a few photos from that night in a future post. For this image, I used a Pentax KX and 50mm 1.8 prime. This film stock ended up rendering the colors so beautifully, and I have more from later in the trip that I'd love to show you. The shadows had a green tint, and the highlights had just a touch of pink to them. Very beautiful!

Looking forward to engaging with each you here on the platform. More to come!

Sort:  

great start! looking forward to rest of the film! cheers

Thanks so much! Appreciate it.

Although I like the picture, I must say, that I'm fascinated by the intricate details of the picture. The history, the materials, the hardware...They are mundane, yet you somehow made them interesting.

By bringing those details to the fore, you give people who are not photographers some insight into what a photog thinks about at night when the day is done.

You seem like someone who would find joy in using a camera manufactured in the 1950's to capture a moment today, and then revel in the quality of the photo that is produced from hardware older than most of us.

That enthusiasm is rather contagious. :)

I absolutely agree with your last paragraph! I love the beautiful engineering that went into some of those older cameras, and it's a thrill to create beautiful photos with a camera much older than I am. I don't have anything very old at this time, probably my Yashica TLR, or perhaps a Pentax SLR.

Hey @justinmullet, nice post! I've developed a better appreciation for art and photos, so it's nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers

Thanks! I'm just starting out. Any great advice for a newbie?

That's a beautiful shot, Justin! Aaaabsolutely love it. The colours, the softness, the subject... sigh.

Happy to have another fellow photographer on Steemit :) Welcome!

Thanks so much! I'll check your work out. I'm excited to be here.

love the red additional in the left part !

Thanks, I love when first exposures of the roll turn out this well.

This is rad man! Love the light leak. Welcome to Steemit. Followed back.

Thanks Owen! I appreciate it very much.

This is sick man!

Thanks so much!

Absolutely stunning photography. Following...

Thank you much! I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85