Idaho Selkirk Wilderness

in #photofeed5 years ago

Fire Season

This post is another installment of photos from this summer, and a flight over the Idaho wilderness, which I've shared a few photos from in previous posts (linked below). The morning we left for Moose Creek it was hot and dry, but the smoke from nearby fires was supressed, and held back by favorable wind currents. The air was relatively clear, and the view was gorgeous. The next day however, on our flight back home the wind had changed and the smoke become thick, casting a dirty color cast on everything. The first two photos in this post are from day two when the smoke was heavy, and the last two photos were from our flight in, and show signs of fires from previous seasons.

IMG_9302.jpg

I was equipped for most of the flight back with my 135mm lens, which helped me capture the magnitude of these peaks and ridgelines. In my opinion the smoke added a dark, almost ominous feel to some of these photos.

IMG_9297.jpg

I shot this from the back window of the Cessna 182. Again, the smoke was so thick that the sky felt heavy and had a dirty hue. The temperature was also very high this day, and as we were descending to land, the updrafts and downdrafts in the mountains tried to push us around a little.

IMG_9009.jpg

We flew past quite a few ridges and mountain sides that had burned in previous seasons. As much as we don't like fires, especially when they threaten people, homes and livelihoods, the forests rely on the regenerative properties of wildfires, and benefit from renewed ecosystems and watersheds.

IMG_9011.jpg

Some areas were really scorched however, and will take years to fully recover.

It was such a blast to observe this all from the air and see how the ridgelines connect the drainages in between lead to streams and rivers in the valleys. I was also really glad to have brought my 135mm with me since it allowed me to get some shots that without it would've been a lot less stunning. If you don't have a telephoto, you should get one!

Here are some links to previous posts that include additional photos from this flight if you haven't already seen them:


Get 20% off from my portfolio and Stocksy using this link! Stocksy United - Justin Mullet
I create authentic outdoor and landscape photography primarily in the Western United States. Featuring a beautiful portfolio of stock photos that portray some of the earth's most peaceful and quiet areas, and portraying rural life at its best!

Sort:  

Wow! That last shot angle made me feel as though I were leaning out of the plane!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00