The Flight to Moose Creek Idaho

in #photofeed6 years ago

Flight to Moose Creek

This summer I had the chance to fly to Moose Creek, Idaho in a Cessna 182 for an overnight camping trip. It was one of the best places I've ever gone. Moose Creek is in the Selway Bitterroot Wilderness area of Idaho. At the junction of Moose Creek and the Selway River there is a small slice of land tucked in between the mountains with enough flat space to accommodate two intersecting grass airstrips. Once you touch down on the runway, you are 25 miles from the nearest road, and closer to paradise than you've ever been. Without spoiling a future post giving you the full review, I'll just tell you that it is one of the most incredible little gems left in the west.

I shared a few photos from this trip already, and I listed each of them below. I haven't actually shared any photos of Moose Creek yet, because I shot those photos on film, and I'm waiting for the film to come back from the lab. If you do want to see more right away, you can go to my Instagram profile and open the story highlight titled Moose Creek.

The photos in this post were both taken on our way south from Boundary County Airport soon after sunrise. The sun had just peaked over the eastern horizon as we flew past Lake Pend Oreille in Sandpoint, Idaho. My neck was cranked toward the window nearly the entire flight trying to take in the awesome views.

IMG_8871.jpg

IMG_8883.jpg

Once my film comes back from the lab, you can expect another post or two about this trip. It was definitely a summer highlight! If you view my Instagram highlights, respond to one of the stories with a DM letting me know you saw this post here on Steemit!


Purchase my photos on Stocksy United! Stocksy United - Justin Mullet
Creating authentic outdoor and landscape photography primarily in the Western United States. Featuring a beautiful portfolio of stock photos that portray some of the earth's most peaceful and quiet areas, and portraying rural life at its best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95