In Which We Take a Vow of Silence

in #photofeed5 years ago

St Monica, Duluth (4).jpg

Last weekend I stopped by this charming church in Duluth, Georgia -- St. Monica's Catholic Church.

There I encountered this beautiful little prayer chapel. It's actually quite small, but absolutely beautiful. I was enthralled.

At the doors to the chapel is a plaque informing the visitors that the chapel observes a strict Monastic vow of grand silence -- basically, no talking or even whispering. Keep all noise to a minimum.

It was the quietest place I had ever been in. I was afraid to even take any photos, for fear the sound of the shutter click would simply be too loud. I ended up taking a few photos from outside the chapel doors, through the little windows. It wasn't a perfect solution, but I would rather err on the side of greatest respect, as is my general habit when visiting any place of worship.

It was definitely a place of peace.

St Monica, Duluth (5).jpg

St Monica, Duluth (2).jpg

St Monica, Duluth (3).jpg

St Monica, Duluth (1).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61619.35
ETH 3001.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64