Ten Days of Reflection day one – Reflections on Throwing Rocks in the Ocean

in #photofeed6 years ago

Throwing rocks in the ocean was quite a past time of mine when my son was younger. At that time we lived very close to the beach and would often travel down and go exploring there. We would often toss rocks out as far as we could watching them splash in the water. At that time I could throw them much farther than he could.

Recently we all piled in the car to go shopping and I suggested we take the drone along for fun. The drone is more of a toy but it lets us take some pretty nice video when you fly it. I like taking the video and my son likes to fly it.

After the shopping was done, we looked around for a place to fly the drone and stopped by one of my favorite parks. The entrance to the park was gated off and closed with a big “Park Closed” sign. ‘Park Closed,’ is kind of a best kept secret known only by the locals. That means you park your car on the road and walk in. The park is much less crowded and there are no officials looking for park fees.

This is much different from some of my previous experiences at other places I’ve lived where they leave the gate open but show a “Park Closed” sign. One time I got a fifty dollar ticket from ignoring a “Park Closed” sign and being there when it was closed. But around where I live now things are done differently.

We walked along and my son flew the drone. I was hoping it would go much higher up in the sky but the batteries might have been low or my son might have been worried about losing it in the wind.

After the battery ran down I took a few pictures as the sun was setting.

BeachReflections.jpg
The beach with the sunlight reflecting off the waves. – click for viewing full screen

I liked the way the light was reflecting off of the waves. The waves are never really big around here like they can be farther down the coast to the South.

BeachWaveReflections.jpg
Wave reflections. – click for viewing full screen

I also liked the way there was a single person in the background looking out at the ocean. It was very beautiful that evening.

BeachCoastReflections.jpg
Person looking at the ocean. – click for viewing full screen

I watched as my son skipped a rock over the water. It is quite a challenge to get it right even with the gentle waves. One, two, three, four, five, the rock reflected along the surface and then settled down into the sea.

“That was quite a throw,” I said.

He looked around for other rocks and I thought of throwing some myself, but I could never skip a rock like that even when I was younger. Somehow I think that throwing rocks in the ocean is beneficial in ways to help out with the weathering of rocks and other things. What do you think?


Thanks for reading! Pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S7 and processed with GIMP.

More about the reflection challenge can be read HERE

I nominate anyone with a desire for reflections to try out the challenge.

Sort:  

Great post @lightsplasher, I have similar memories with my dad when I was younger. Love your photography and the reflection challenge is a great idea!

Thanks! There's always fun things to do with family that make for good memories. The reflection challenge is a nice idea - I liked the black and white challenge as well. It is nice to try out different types of photography.

I really like those captures, such clarity and nice lighting, great job!!!

Thank you! I like your posts as well.

amazing holiday her my friend @lightsplasher
yesterday i also holiday to the beach and that i think is very pleasant..

Thank you my friend

Thanks. Nice picture at the beach, looks fun.

You are welcome my senior.
if you please see my post there is less than my post or bangaimana I can go forward friends..
Thank my friend

I am very interested to read this post, of course. I remember in my childhood that cannot swim in the sea, I was almost drowned by big waves. but it was fun to remember our childhoods on the beach, thank you for these various posts @lightsplasher

Thank you! The water is very cold in the ocean around here, typically most people don't swim in it. I remember one time my son chased a ball out into the bay because it was being blown by the wind. We had a rather cold trip back home after that. ;)

May your day always please friend there
very different from the life I live with my son, I live with my little children every day because his mother has gone forever, may you always smile sweetly for them every day, best friend....thanks so much

Drones are definitely fun to use. I don't have one, but my son and husband plan to buy one as soon as we manage to have some spare funds. They enjoy doing such fun stuff together. All the pictures are lovely, but my personal favorite is the second one.

Your son throwing stones reminded me of how my son did it for the first time about 3 weeks back when we were on a vacation and visited a dam. He was scared of it first, but then started enjoying it so much that he did not want to leave the place even after sunset. lol

They are very fun to play with together. I hope you can afford to get one soon. I think throwing stones in the ocean can be fun at any age. I personally have a lot of issues with my shoulders but that doesn't stop me. My son is much better at it though.

Yeah it is fun at any age. Actually, my husband and I wanted to go on a jet ski but my son was scared of us getting drowned so he would not let us so my mother distracted him from us by showing him how to throw stones in the water and by making things from sand. He got so engaged in those activities, he didn't even notice us sneak away and have fun of our own. Haha otherwise we would have thrown pebbles with him too. Yeah I do hope to get another vacation soon. I don't want one now, but one in June would be great.

The light caught those waves cresting perfectly!!! Im looking forward to crashing flying my drone some this summer.

The park closed always gets me. Like are we going to steal a tree?

Thank you! Yes, I'm happy with the way that one came out. Sometimes you got to take a few pictures to find one that you like. Drones definitely crash a lot, got to roll with the crashes sometimes. Park closed can be a good opportunity, unfortunately they don't empty the trash or leave the rest rooms open but I can't complain (not that I can't afford the park fee nowadays but it gets tough to figure out who to pay it to if you don't have the right pass, and carry around your check book because they don't take credit cards, and it seems like that's what taxes are supposed to work for right? LOL)

thanks a lot of your masters @lightsplasher..
have visited my bloq and supported me by giving 100% Upvote. i can know what to say for sir because sir that helps me in this steemit dunua.
I am very grateful to the lord and if someday I have grown up I never forget the kindness of the lord and I should be able to help my friends under me like you do now.
Thank you so much sir @lightsplasher

You are welcome. Thank you!

Thank so much my friend

beautiful scenery comrades and a fun holiday for you friends may you have fun there.
greetings I made your sweet child.
Thank you my friend

@lightsplasher You wrote the post very well. I liked it very much. I will try to post like you Thank you just a little help me......

@sun-light, I visited your blog and left a few tips on your first introductory post. See if it helps you. Good luck.

wow.!! wonderful post dear @lightsplasher, I love your all post, toda's post is so so good. and photography is nice, last few day's miss you so much, I'm your big fan, & supporter, I'll be always,

....thank you so much.....

....miss you so much....

resteemed

my dear friend @lightsplasher your photography is awesome, i love your #post alltime, thank you for sharing with us,,,


            i love this picture 

DQmcie9TWjMmcEcUV9dfnVwgtB218ZCHpUuvcksAVjLJ6no_1680x8400.jpeg


        i will never forget you 

please remeber me a little bit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50