There's a storm coming

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Close to my city there is this amazing, old stone church. This afternoon the sky got almost pitch black and lighting strikes broke through the clouds announcing quite a storm.
I quickly got in my car and drove close to the church. As I climbed the hill, I felt a few rain drops but I thought that I'd have plenty of time to set up my camera and take a few shots.
I wanted to use a long shutter speed to catch a few lightnings as a backdrop for the church but the rain had other plans and as soon as I took my first test shot, it started pouring so I had no other choice but to grab my gear, run and hope it doesn't get wet.

This is the resulting image.

Sort:  

What a romantically gloomy picture! It makes me think of the book, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (under the name of Ellis Bell). The movie starred Sir Laurence Olivier and Merle Oberon, I believe. The flowers at the bottom do lighten it up considerably, although the sky looks ready to hurl lighting bolts at you at any moment for daring to capture it in a photograph. Nice work!

Woow, thanks so much for the comment! The lighting bolts didn't hurl my way but the rain sure did, I guess the storm didn't appreciate that I was trying to take her photo :)

Perhaps she did not want to be remembered in such a dark and tempestuous mood? ;-)

Wonderful b&w work Raoul!

Thank you so much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Raoul from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95