breaching baby humpback

in #photofeed5 years ago

Firstly, I must apologize, as the internet on the ship has been offline for the past week, which means I haven't been able to update you all on the experiences and animal encounters I have been having down here in Antarctica. There have been plenty these past 9 days but one that happened only a few days ago was with a large group of Humpback Whales at a place called Portal Point. 3 Large humpbacks were in a feeding behaviour, with bubble netting and amongst these hungry gentle giants there was a small youngster that took this time to play around on the surface.

Before I knew it he was breaching constantly only a 100m or so from my zodiac, which was mesmerizing to watch and as you can see I was lucky enough to capture one of these breaches, which I am pretty happy with. This little guy is already close to or over 10 tonne and will stay close to his mother for maybe one more season before braving this wild world on his own. Either way, it was a privilege to not only witness this playful behaviour by a young humpback but to also capture it so I can share it here with you all.


IMG_7680-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Wonderful shot! Great timing :)

Thanks a heap! Greatly appreciated

Epic. Love the mountains in the background. Never get tired of watching these majestic creatures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97